Inside on a beautiful day

Thought that was a good name for the blog thats in my head. Brad has a cold. Saturday night he started acting real lethargic and cuddly. He got some medicine and perked up. Then the coughing started. And hasnt really ended. Sunday his eyes were almost purple underneath and he had tons of yuck in his head. Poor guy. We stayed in Sunday in hopes we wouldnt miss VBS starting today. But we did.

Thankfully I have had movies galore. Saturday night before the illness ensued, I asked Ernie if we could go by wal-mart and buy season one of little house on the prairie. He said sure and off we went. Then I watched like 14 hours straight of little house. I got to disc 5 and started getting sad. Almost over. I had rented Sarah, Plain and Tall from the library (ALL 3 parts!) and we watched that. Today I rented Anne of Green Gables and Brad and I watched that too. Its been a move marathon here.

Anyways, all the while I am knitting. Today I finished my blanket, cast off the needles and laid it out across the couch. I almost died when I saw what I did. About 8 inches back, I flipped my blanket and started knitting the right side on the WRONG side. Who knows, took a break and came back, knitting the wrong way. There I sat looking at my beautiful blanket that was so flawed it just wouldnt do at all.

As I unraveled it, (1 full skein of yarn to be exact..) I was thinking about this scripture.

Mat 7:21  Not every one that saith unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven.
Mat 7:22  Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name? and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works?
Mat 7:23  And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity.

When I get to the end of my road, thinking of my beautiful life, I dont want to look back and see serious mistakes. Mistakes that drastically change the outcome of my life. Every day I am taking steps, hopefully into the Kingdom of Heaven.  We could get to the end of this whole deal here and He could say, depart from me, I know you not. The thing is, like with my blanket, I was working so hard happily going along, not even realizing I was doing it all wrong! I want to daily, today, make sure my life is aligning with scripture as much as I can. Through reading, and prayer. through talking with friends to see another perspective. I don’t want to be thinking I’m right when all along, I have been so wrong.

Help me, Lord to do things your way, unto YOU, for your glory, honor and power. Where I have made mistakes, let me back up, unravel, and fix it.  Thank you for giving me the opportunity to do this, Lord.

Lord I want to go, keep showing me the way. When my way is dark, keep showing me the way. Take me by the hand and lead me on.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Inside on a beautiful day

  1. bellissimanh says:

    I love this post, Sarah! What a wonderful analogy! I’m so thankful we serve a God who is in the business of redeeming… things, time, mistakes, people. All of it. He is so wonderful! Thanks for a great read tonight!

    Heather

  2. AaronC says:

    Very good blog. Ditto what Heather said – God is in the business of redeeming every part of our lives.

  3. Tina says:

    Sarah, you’re amazing. Great post.

  4. Aaron Webb says:

    Those days we are being unraveled are so vivid yet hopefully “I’ll come forth as gold”

    Get better already! We are here all week!

  5. Sarah says:

    Thanks for the comments, guys!

    Aaron w- Hopefully by Thursday we’ll be better. I woke up this morning feeling lousy. And I got barfed on last night by Rees. (why does that only happen to me?) We hope we can All be at VBS Thursday. We’ll get to all visit before the week is over. So glad you guys have been able to be here for it, I bet the kids are loving it. ttyl-s

  6. Janelle says:

    Ooo ooo ooo, I’m missin’ you …

    LOL That’s my attempt at “singing” online. I am missing you and the boys at VBS! My kids have been sick too and I’ve been shuttling the twins between my mom and Ann and the doctor’s office so that Lydia and I can still go. I hope we see you tomorrow or by Thursday!

  7. Sarah says:

    Janelle,
    I hoped Brad could go today but he felt really bad last night again and fell asleep before 8. He is still asleep this morning. Rees is awful today. He keeps saying he is going to throw up. It traumatized him. This is a cold on steroids, Ernie said this morning. Loved your song!

Leave a comment