Psalm 31

Its been a while since I have written anything besides the mundane. Not that I havent felt inspired, I just havent felt to share. Most of what I have been getting is going on inwardly. The up’s and down’s in life are constantly teaching me to lean on my beloved. But yesterday I really felt to grab my bible and read a psalm. The word can wash you, the words in the Bible are so pure and true. When nothing around me makes sense, they make sense. Except the book of Job. 🙂

Psa 31:7 I will be glad and rejoice in thy mercy: for thou hast considered my trouble; thou hast known my soul in adversities;
Psa 31:8 And hast not shut me up into the hand of the enemy: thou hast set my feet in a large room.

I felt something in that ‘large room’ at the end of verse 8. What does that mean? So I looked around in a few commentaries and found this.

Blessed be God for liberty: civil liberty is valuable, religious liberty is precious, spiritual liberty is priceless. In all troubles we may praise God if these are left. Many saints have had their greatest enlargements of soul when their affairs have been in the greatest straits. Their souls have been in a large room when their bodies have been lying in Bonner’s coalhole, or in some other narrow dungeon. Grace has been equal to every emergency; and more than this, it has made the emergency an opportunity for displaying itself.

How comforting! That we have something that nothing on this earth can effect. Paul says I know how to be abased and abound. (Php 4:12) His spirit had learned how to be content in all things. No matter what this life throws at you. Our hope is in Christ. Not in this world. No matter if we’re in prison, in a shack, in a mansion, in starvation, or in plenty. I thank God for spiritual liberty today.

..and that we can always be in a large room with our Lord-His love enough to fill it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Psalm 31

  1. Gina says:

    That commentary is awesome. I had never really paid attention to that phrase. It’s amazing that you can always find something new and fresh in God’s word… Thanks for that:)

  2. Janelle says:

    “enlargements of soul” – that is awesome! That our souls can actually “grow” like that.

    “Grace has been equal to every emergency” – thank God that’s true.

    Aaron and I were just talking about the fact that we would never learn how to be content while abased without actually being abased, LOL. There’s a song that says “I will walk in wide places, for Your precepts guide my ways.” It’s not talking about the “wide” verses “narrow” gates, but that following the Lord will take us to unimaginable places IN HIM! Praise God!

  3. bellissimanh says:

    This was a beautiful post, Sarah. I love the way you took that verse apart. What a concept… I love it! Thank you for sharing what the Lord has been teaching you. I love this line from the commentary:

    “Grace has been equal to every emergency; and more than this, it has made the emergency an opportunity for displaying itself.”

    How this has proven true in my life over and over again!

Leave a Reply

