Narrow is the way..

Yesterday this phrase kept scrolling through my mind, ‘the de-santification process has begun’. You know the movie Santa Clause? I dont know if it was 1, 2, or 3 but its when Tim Allen begins to lose the magic. He starts losing weight, stops being able to tell who’s been naughty or nice. You know, he’s not going to be Santa anymore.

As I thought more on it, a new phrase scrolled through my mind, ‘the de-sensitization process’. It’s the point where we start losing the magic too, (if you will.) I listened to a message by Rob Bell this week. In it he said, ‘We get the idealism beaten out of us.’ This almost knocked the wind out of me-I could relate.

But if Im not careful, I can see how this process could begin. Actually if Im honest, it probably already has begun. Losing a little bit of the fear of the Lord. Things that used to be ‘magical’ or full of wonder are now just not so much anymore. Someone new comes along with that feeling, all happy and I say to myself, ‘uh-huh, just you wait.’ Honestly, I just dont have the energy. I find myself telling the Lord, ‘Lord, look at all we’ve been through, do you need me to make you a list? I will!’ But the Lord patiently just waits for me to throw my tantrum and remains faithful. He gently reminds me of His disciples, what they went through and even Himself went through.

This is not where I want to be, or find myself. I have a master I want to be pleasing to. I have been bought with a price. When I do get my head back in the scriptures, this is all I find. Words of comfort, encouragement and promises of what is to come if we hold fast. The answers are all found- in Him. All the magic is still found-in Him.

Heb 10:23  Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for he who promised is faithful.

1Jn 2:25  And this is the promise that he made to us–eternal life.

2Pe 3:13  But according to his promise we are waiting for new heavens and a new earth in which righteousness dwells.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Narrow is the way..

  1. bellissimanh says:

    Great post, Sarah. How I pray to stay away from that place of complacency. You’re right… we sometimes need to be shaken up to wake up. Sad, but true. I’m so thankful for the foundation of His Word. When the walls seem to be crumbling around me, He is the Rock that is higher than I… the one constant. How I love Him!

Leave a Reply

