Love.

I was listening to this song on the way to church today. Is your grace still strong enough? Have you turned your face from us? Have we hurt you far too much? Do you still look down in love? The part that got me was ‘How can you still love us the same?’

We cant help but look at our lives with human eyes and brokenness. My love has limits, God’s love is endless. I cant even understand the love he has for me which is probably why I love the Kim Walker song ‘How He loves us’ so much. Its so re-affirming. Because we love with this wretched human heart, we can only think ‘God cant love me, because if I were God, I wouldn’t love me.’ There seems to be no way around this thinking.

Of all the wonderful things Jesus does for us, teaching us how to love should be at the top of our lists. We learn from his love toward us, we learn what grace is. People love each other sometimes with a selfish love, a self seeking love, or a manipulative love. A Godly love is a love that transforms you and your sense of what love is and how it was meant to be given away.

His love is a million things that I am not.

Rom 5:7  For one will scarcely die for a righteous person–though perhaps for a good person one would dare even to die–
Rom 5:8  but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

Maybe that is why Jesus said, ‘Father forgive them, for they know not what they do’. I feel like Jesus says this about me every day.. I believe that His grace really is sufficient. That His power really is made perfect in my weakness. I readily admit my ability to love is sometimes at best warped and dysfunctional. I admit my weakness and rest on His promise that His power is made perfect in my weakness.

I pray that the Lord keeps leading us deeper into His love. He knows how deeply we need Him to transform us.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Love.

  1. Chad Guisewite says:

    Great thoughts. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

