Altars of Remembrance.

I know, its been almost a year since I last blogged. At least it feels like it. Ernie is going to revamp my blog soon, he has been learning WordPress in the last few months. Until we get it hosted elsewhere, I will just blog my thoughts on here.

The past year has been one of struggle, searching, and change. Our church, our lives, have gone through a lot of change, which sometimes feel like you are on the back end of a rubber band. Sometimes you can feel like you arent sure where God wants you to be. It can uproot you and make you feel unsettled. But maybe thats how He wants us to feel. So He is leading and we arent. Sometimes it helps to go take a walk through the land and revisit the altars of remembrance. Thats what I did Sunday.

I had been feeling ‘Thankfulness’. So when our pastor got up and began the service with that, it wasnt like, I fell off my chair or anything. I mean, we are in church. Thankfulness is a common theme in our services. But along with this thankfulness I was feeling, I kept feeling to remember.  As the choir sang, it began to overwhelm me. I looked around and as my eyes fell on every single face, I was reminded of something they have done to impact my life.

Our pastor talked about ‘living stones’. Which we are. But my mind wandered back to the Old Testament. Oftentimes when a victory was won, when God revealed himself in a big way, an altar was built with stones.

Why?

Probably because as long as humans have been around, we have known how quickly we forget goodness. Our minds gravitate towards whatsoever things are not lovely. The drama comes more naturally, the negativity seeps in, the worries consume.

Watchman Nee says that our relationship with God is not just vertical, but also horizontal. As I walk along this road, I am finding that he is so right. God reveals things to us through our brothers and sisters in Him. We cannot just sit alone and be ‘all good’ with God. We were made for fellowship with Him and with others.

As I walked through the land on Sunday I saw living stones, living testimonies to Gods goodness. I saw people who have been through the biggest struggles in their lives and have kept the faith. I saw friends who have come running with comfort when I have been in need. I saw the faces of the most forgiving people on Earth, I saw the times when I have NOT acted like a child of the new creation, how they have forgiven me and loved me anyways. I saw the hands raised that belonged to people who loved to use them in service to my King. I saw in a few quick moments, that my life has been sewn into these people. They are living examples of His commitment to me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Altars of Remembrance.

  1. Travis says:

    Glad to have you back in more than 140 characters.

    I’ve been thinking about gratitude/thankfulness the last couple of days. I know it’s important, and I want to be better at being thankful. I’m just not sure how.

  2. Sarah says:

    Travis, Im not either. But I feel like thankfulness must be something that is exuded from the inside out. Reminds me of:

    Luk 6:45 …for out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks.

    Seems like everything begins in the heart. If we are truly thankful, our lives will be salt and peppered with thankfulness. Sounds so beautiful, I want to live it!

  3. Gina says:

    Good to hear your thoughts again:) Glad you’re going to get back at it. I miss blogging. Thinking I might start a new site (with no stalkers this time).

    I have been feeling the need for connection with others as you put so nicely – “We cannot just sit alone and be ‘all good’ with God. We were made for fellowship with Him and with others.” I am really thankful to be in fellowship with other believers again. I missed it. I need to feel Jesus through others when we get together; it makes Him so much more real and just so much bigger then I can imagine on my own. Looking forward to more…

Leave a Reply

