Blessed.

Psalm 115:10-15

10O house of Aaron, trust in the LORD: he is their help and their shield.

11Ye that fear the LORD, trust in the LORD: he is their help and their shield.

12The LORD hath been mindful of us: he will bless us; he will bless the house of Israel; he will bless the house of Aaron.

13He will bless them that fear the LORD, both small and great.

14The LORD shall increase you more and more, you and your children.

15Ye are blessed of the LORD which made heaven and earth.

It seems like we’re always depreciating self, which ideally is a good thing. But it can be a bit much-it gets into our thinking. In American Christianity it seems its good to put yourself down, to have a good laugh at yourself. It shows humility, right?

I have been thinking of a bumper sticker I once saw. ‘God loves you, but Im His favorite.’ At first glance we think, how arrogant! Its sort of like why interviewing is so hard for so many of us. You have to brag on yourself. And we have trained ourselves not to brag on ourselves. Because truly there is no good within me. But I love that bumper sticker and think we should ALL be wearing one. We should all feel so special. Because we are. To Him.

Sometimes I just think we (I) take it too far. To the point where it warps the scripture. That verse 15 was hard for me to swallow this morning at first read. You are blessed of the Lord which made heaven and earth. Me? Couldnt be. The scriptures ‘oh ye of little faith’ I gulp up with vigor, but not the blessing ones? Nah. Those are for someone else.

Psalm 116 finishes it beautifully.

1I love the LORD, because he hath heard my voice and my supplications.

2Because he hath inclined his ear unto me, therefore will I call upon him as long as I live.

Lord, I embrace you today. Im so thankful to be your child. I recognize how blessed I am today.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blessed.

  1. Janelle says:

    I totally relate to this post. I guess it can take as much trust to believe the good as it does to trust when we’re in dark times. But it’s the same spiritual muscle – trusting the Lord. I imagine He gets sick of me asking “really Lord?” all the time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

