Holding onto that ‘One Thing’..

So apparently, Im still better at writing that I am speaking. Half the thoughts didnt make it from my brain to my mouth last night so I will gather them together in a pretty little pile here. I love blogging.

Yesterday morning I asked the Lord to speak to me.  I really needed to hear from Him. Later on while driving, Luke came on this cd Ernie made for the van. I stopped it and talked to the boys about what we had heard. It was the stories of The Good Samaritan/Mary & Martha. I felt the Lord in it so strong. Then at church last night we started with some songs and ‘There is no name like that of Jesus, let all the Earth proclaim His majesty… At His name, every knee shall bow.” Then Jim got up and said he doesnt know all of everything going on but he does know one thing. How the Lord saved Him. I felt the spirit so strong!

The part about Mary & Martha that really stood out to me is that I sometimes am both. But lately I have been in total Martha mode.

But the Lord answered her, “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.”

What was Mary doing? Sitting at the Lord’s feet and listened to his teaching. More than bowing in worship, I was feeling like I want my heart in a bowed state always.

4 One thing I ask of the LORD,
this is what I seek:
that I may dwell in the house of the LORD
all the days of my life,
to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD
and to seek him in his temple. -Psalm 27

Then I thought back to the good samaritan.

He went to him and bound up his wounds, pouring on oil and wine. Then he set him on his own animal and brought him to an inn and took care of him.

I realized this is the state I was in once. In order for the samaritan to have went to him and bound up his wounds. He would have had to of knelt beside the man, cared for him. Got on his level. I realized my knees should be bowed to the one who bowed down and touched me. Got on my level, saved me right where I was. That alone is a debt I can never repay.

Then Bro Steve gave this verse-Galatians 6:14

14But far be it from me to boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, by which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world. 15For neither circumcision counts for anything, nor uncircumcision, but a new creation. 16And as for all who walk by this rule, peace and mercy be upon them, and upon the Israel of God.

It would be silly for that man in Luke 10 to have gotten well at the inn, all because of the good samaritan and to begin to brag on himself. That he was so good and thats why the Samaritan stopped. The Samaritan stopped because he had compassion. I read a quote last week that Compassion is Mercy with Action. This is so completely applicable here. Even if the others walking by before felt in their heart, ‘pity that poor thing’.. They never stopped by to help. The Samaritan put some action behind what He felt. And for NO other reason except that. So, what do I have to boast in? I was that man, beaten, stripped down and half dead. And someone had compassion on me!! SOMEONE HAD COMPASSION ON ME!

What have I to boast in? Except for the cross by which my savior saved me and made me a new creation. That one thing I will boast in all the days of my life.

Yet he did not waver through unbelief regarding the promise of God, but was strengthened in his faith and gave glory to God, 21being fully persuaded that God had power to do what he had promised. -Romans 4:20-21

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

