Do you doubt the Prophecy?

I have been thinking for a few days about this part of ‘Lion, Witch and the Wardrobe.’

Aslan: That is Cair Paravel, Castle of the four thrones. In one of which you will sit, as High King. [Peter looks down] You doubt the prophecy?
Peter: No, that’s just it. Aslan, I’m not who you think I am.

I remember watching it for the first time with Ernie and his Dad. When this part of the movie happened I remember getting up and going to write that down. I still have it somewhere on a yellow sticky note scribbled, ‘Do you doubt the prophecy?’ I tacked it to my corkboard and its still there, dusty after a few years. But every now and then I look at it, remembering what I felt when Aslan said those words.

We know the end of the story. Its just getting to the end that seems to be the tricky part. The daily living, through failures, disappointments, struggles, fear and trials. Things change us. But the prophecy never changes. The Lord is going to have a Bride. There is going to be a wedding day. The question really is, how bad do I want to be a part of it?

Just like in the quote, I tell the Lord all the time, ‘Im just not who you think I am..’ We have scriptures like this that confirm it.

2Co 12:9  But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

If I believe it, its not about who I think I am. Or who He thinks I am. Its about His power being made perfect in weakness. And this isnt initial weakness, this weakness covers the gamut.

ἀσθένεια
astheneia
as-then’-i-ah
From G772; feebleness (of body or mind); by implication malady; moral frailty: – disease, infirmity, sickness, weakness.

This is weakness though out your entire walk. Sort of reminds me of the part of the wedding vows.. In sickness and in health. These things are going to hit us, there are times in our walk when we are going to feel weak. It doesnt matter why, what matters is that He is strong. And that His grace is sufficient.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do you doubt the Prophecy?

  1. Greg Craddock says:

    When I really think about some of the comments I actually make to God, sometimes I have to just laugh “I can’t believe I just said that!” Like in that movie “I’m not who you think I am”. Do we think God actually doesn’t know who we are? Judging by some of our actions you would think so.
    He knows exactly who we are, what we’re thinking and the true intent of our hearts. What an amazing God we serve! I’m so thankful He know’s who I am and exactly what I need, for He knows much better than I do and I’d be in such a huge mess if it were completely left up to me. Thank you for this blog post, it really made me think!

  2. Sarah says:

    Hey Greg- Thanks for commenting. Your comment made me think of something else I wanted to post with this blog. You Tube ‘Rob Bell Dust’ and watch that video if you havent seen it. He brings out some great thoughts about Peter walking on the water that tie in here. (I think.) Most times I dont doubt the prophecy, I doubt myself. We are so good at doing this! Maybe we should see the potential that God sees. ?

  3. Greg Craddock says:

    Absolutely, and what an awesome video! I’ve never really put it into that perspective. I know God has His plan for me, but I like so many doubt myself in so many things when it comes to serving the Lord. What an amazing thought in that video that not only do we have faith in God, but he also has faith in us. To even fathom that the Lord of all, the creator of everything would have enough faith in someone like me to say “Follow me”. I limit God so many times, I have this little box that I say “ok, this is God, this is what he does”. Although He doesn’t have to, I’m so thankful He sees past those doubts and fears, proving to me over and over that He is God and He can do anything.

Leave a Reply

