More on doors…

I couldnt believe when I just opened Ernie’s email and saw this from a ministry we subscribe to..  Here are some excerpts of the email.. So good!

Open Doors

Behold, I have put before you an open door which no one can shut, because you have a little power, and have kept My word, and have not denied My name.Rev. 3:8

January 4, 2009

Which Direction the Door?

First, doors can serve either as entrances into opportunities or as exits from certain situations. When a door opened for John on Patmos, it was a door up into a higher place of vision. It was an entrance. But when a door opened for Peter, it was a door out of a confining situation. Once the door or gate opened, he was then on his own to find his way home.

Entrance doors lead to an establishment with a more perceivable security of situation. Exit doors lead to a release from establishment to a more perceivable uncertainty. The problem comes when the kind of prophetic open door we are expecting is different from the kind of door the Lord has meant. We may be waiting for a door of opportunity into a new established situation to appear. But instead, we are released from a presently secure situation into one of uncertainty. Oppositely, we may be waiting for a door of exit from a confining situation, only to find we are instead presented a door into deeper establishment of something that looks like more of what we are trying to get out of.

In both cases, the opposite door may be necessary before the door we expect and desire can be realized. For instance, we may need to first exit from something before we can receive a desired entrance into something else. Before Peter could be received through the door into the security of Mary’s house, he had to pass through the door of exit from the prison. Between the prison exit door and the home entrance door was a period of uncertainty in the night. (And even at Mary’s door he had to wait due to a miscue!)

Vice versa, we may be believing for the promised open door “out” of a situation, but God opens instead a more confining situation to which we must submit. In this case, our willingness to enter into the more confining situation may be the key to our release from the entire situation. Sometimes a deeper submission to a bad situation is required before we can gain freedom from the situation altogether.

This is something we need to really account for when God promises an open door no man can shut. It’s hard for us to accept because we are already with “little strength” from having kept His words to us. (“How long, O Lord?”) But when opposite kinds of doors open in response to our prayers, we must not fear to walk through them, whether to seemingly greater confinement or greater insecurity. We must understand the Lord is not giving us a stone instead of bread. We will ultimately find the door that delivers on our desire.

How Wide the Door?

When we think of an open door, our natural vision presents us a wide door, clearly fully open, beckoning with light streaming through from the other side. Not so? Yet such an image may not reflect the true size of the door the Lord has promised us, and I dare say, usually does not. Every door the Lord promises us is a door to a greater realm of eternal life. Yet the door to eternal life is clearly described as a narrow one:

“Enter through the narrow gate; for the gate is wide and the way is broad that leads to destruction, and there are many who enter through it. For the gate is small and the way is narrow that leads to life, and there are few who find it.” Mt. 7:13-14

One of the things that perplexes us most about promised open doors is when we see opportunities arise that are clearly from the Lord, only to be stymied at every turn from being able to enter into the opportunity! Everything lines up in our spirit. But one thing after another gets in the way, threatening our access altogether. And while we believe the Lord that “no man” is capable of shutting the open door, we wonder if the devil isn’t capable of shutting it instead. And even if the devil isn’t capable, we wonder if it really is worth all the trouble to enter it. Or we wonder if maybe this isn’t really the open door after all. Maybe it’s a counterfeit. Maybe we’re trying to make our own door? “If it’s God, shouldn’t it be easier than this?

While it’s possible we can be trying to make our own door open, or to open the Lord’s door pre-maturely, if we are certain the door we are seeing is from the Lord and it is for such a time as this, then we must look at our expectation. If this door is truly a door to greater life and destiny fulfillment in Christ, then we must understand that the opposition we face is simply due to the fact that the door is small. It must be squeezed and “pushed” through.

Of course there is no better illustration of this than birth. The doorway to natural life is through a very constricted passageway. Well the same is true for the open doors of the Lord into most any greater enterprise in His kingdom. Of course again, being already of “little strength” in our present situation so long, our hearts are tempted to faint. The Lord says, “I have set before you an open door.” And we say, “O no, not another birth canal, Lord!

We want the wide open door into the desired direction the first time, but it rarely opens that way. It’s never that the promise of the open door is false. But the promise has a goal attached for bringing us forward in our faith. And therefore the promise of the open door is not one of ease. We must remember that the original promise of Rev. 3:8 was given to those called “overcomers.”

No matter what it may seem like to many of us right now, it truly is a season of open door opportunities and fulfillments. We’re hearing lots of prophetic promises about new opportunities in God while looking at some absolutely contrary, harrowing and society collapsing circumstances around us that appear to offer everything opposite of what we have been promised. How can this be?

Take heart! You really are looking at the open door.

-Chris Anderson

First Love Ministry

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to More on doors…

  1. Gina says:

    Very encouraging. Thinking back over our current state, I feel as though I am in the darkness going from one door to another, like Peter. I guess this is when I am to have faith and trust that God has plans of good and not evil for us. I appreciate this post on doors… it has really put some things into perspective for me.

  2. Janelle says:

    Doors can certainly be scary! I can totally relate to the period between leaving the prison door and arriving at Mary’s door (Peter). There’s freedom, but wondering what’s next? But praise God when He does open a door, we can be certain nobody else can slam it in our faces. Security in Him. Thanks for posting this.

  3. Sarah says:

    Janelle, (& Gina too! Your comments were similar in this thought.) That part was huge to me and where I feel like I am in so many areas of my life as well. But what imagery!

    Scene set:
    Peter leaves the prison door that opened for him for his escape. He is walking in the night, filled with expectation, adrenaline after seeing what just happened. There are bumps in the night along the path. He knows not what is next, anything can happen until he gets to Mary’s house. But he stays on the path. The night may feel like an eternity, whatever happens, he knows God is with Him.

    For now, I dont know what is next, but Im staying on the path. I will keep doing what He last opened to me until the next thing comes. Though the night sometimes seems long.

  4. bellissimanh says:

    I love this! So often I think, “Lord, I don’t know what to do here…” and I obsess over which door to walk through. Sometimes, the best course of action is to focus on the things that I DO know (from His Word) are His will for me, and trust Him to work out the rest.

    I love the idea that the door isn’t always wide and easy to pass through as well. Someone once said to me, “If this were God’s will for me, wouldn’t I feel peace about it?” I told her that there have been times the Lord required something of me, or set me on a certain path that certainly didn’t bring me peace… sometimes He has to drag me kicking and screaming away from my own will so that I can enter the center of His… no. I don’t always feel peace. But I can ALWAYS trust Him!

    Thanks for sharing such a great article! And thank Ernie, too! 🙂

  5. Sarah says:

    wow Heather.. How many times have I heard and even felt this way?
    “If this were God’s will for me, wouldn’t I feel peace about it?”
    I loved how you wrote that out. Sometimes doing the right thing isnt the most comfortable thing. Sometimes the Lords will isnt comfortable or easy or pain free. So the answer would be no. Not always. There have been times when doors have opened and I have been very nervous. I would have rather eaten beetles than go thru the open door. But I did and in the end NOW I have the peace. But it took going thru that door to get to the peace I have now.

    I love this talk on doors!

  6. Gina says:

    That is so true. How many times have I said those exact same sentiments?! But it makes sense that sometimes the peace comes after the whole experience. I have a friend right now who keeps saying that. Maybe I will send them this post…

  7. bellissimanh says:

    We tend to use it as a cop-out sometimes, don’t we? As an excuse for avoiding having to enter unknown or unfamiliar territory. How many times has my fear of the unknown kept me frozen in the misery of the present? The Lord has so much for us… but often we must take that first step of faith and demonstrate our trust in Him before He will show His hand. Bring me to a place of deeper surrender, Lord!

Leave a Reply

