jj heller

Ok, so some of us went to see Jj Heller last night. It was a night of HUGE perspective change for me. Julie had heard on her MySpace that JJ would be in Nashville. Then found out it was at a disorder support group, Fairly Balanced. Helping treat eating disorders and body image issues. I figured she would give her testimony, and we could apply whatever they said a lot of ways into our own lives..

Im so glad we went.

There was about 20 people there in a living room with JJ and Dave, her husband sitting on a piano bench together singing. Candles everywhere, it was so sweet. I didnt like having to introduce myself and say the best part of my week and worst part of my week. I dont even remember what I said in entirety. yikes. I almost passed out.

Yes, I did cry. When she was doing ‘Only love remains’ I couldnt dry it up and the tears were pooling in my lap. I love the woman that handed me a tissue. I told JJ she almost made me do the ugly cry. Then felt dumb. Then realized I shouldnt feel dumb about showing emotion when something is touching my heart.

There was a girl sitting near me, she had anorexia you could tell. She said she was there to get support, her name is Molly. Keep her in your prayers, she was so sweet, seemed funny and was so beautiful.

JJ talked about a song she wrote for a friend in high school. This girl was so pretty, so smart, so perfect. She admired her very much. They got a call over Christmas break from this girls mom to pray for her. That she had tried to take her own life. JJ said she remembered thinking ‘why doesnt she see what I see?’ Then said, why cant we all see how God sees us. He sees us as beautiful, talented, lovely, and His. I thought that was so profound.

Carol mentioned how from where she was sitting she could see the faces of the women and see all the pain at certain points. I felt that too, it was overwhelming. There I sat and thought, ‘we are all damaged.’ You dont have to walk too long in this world to be damaged. And we all need each other.

Dave talked about JJ’s anxiety and that moment stood out to me. It was a husbands perspective on it. He said, ‘when JJ is in her moment of anxiety, shes in the past or way out in the future. She isnt with me here. She misses the now with me.’ Which seemed to really make him sad. Maybe thats why it says in the Bible, be anxious for nothing. Because we miss the present.

JJ gave a talk about every song she sang and why it was written. I loved every minute of it. It was their last appearance before their baby, Lucy Love comes into the world. It was a great evening and Im so thankful I got to be there.

Im playing her music and Brad asked, “Mom, is Jj married?’ I said, ‘Yes, her husbands name is Dave, he seems like a nice guy.’ Brad said, “Man, too late. I wanted to marry her!” I thought to myself, I would very much like you to marry someone like JJ, Brad. Keep up the good taste! đŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to jj heller

  1. Ernie says:

    Be here now. What a concept. To not be in my past or my future but to be rooted in now-

    Eph 2:6 and raised us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, !!
    Col 2:10 And ye are complete in him, which is the head of all principality and power:
    Gal 2:20 ….but Christ liveth in me….

    Be here now-

  2. Gina says:

    That was a beautiful song. You’re so right about missing the present. I want to keep that in perspective when my mind wonders off to the past or far future. Thanks for posting…

  3. Janelle says:

    Wow, that is amazing! I don’t know if I could have handled it. Probably would have ended up in the fetal position and you would have been mortified I came with you! Just your description of it made me cry. That part about the anxiety made so much sense. I never thought about it that way. Thank you for sharing.

  4. jodi says:

    You didn’t mention Pat Benitar and the groupies!!!

Leave a Reply

