zechariah

I dont really know if I have read anything as beautiful as I did this morning. I dont know if its because I so needed something from the Lord, to feel His presence or because the words in Zechariah really are that beautiful. People can only try to imitate the beauty of the words found in the Bible. Poetry really does originate with God.

Here are just a few thoughts this morning as I read..

Zec 2:2  Then I said, “Where are you going?” And he said to me, “To measure Jerusalem, to see what is its width and what is its length.”

After reading this passage I laughed outloud. Isnt that so like man? To try to measure something with a stick? With a tape measure? Talk about putting God in a literal box. I see a man in my mind (probably me) and hear a theme song. Do-di-dat-doo-doo. Gods like, ‘uh, where are you going with that stick?’ Mans like, ‘well Im going to go measure Jerusalem.’ Gods response is awesome. Talk about a paradigm shift.

Zec 2:4  and said to him, “Run, say to that young man, ‘Jerusalem shall be inhabited as villages without walls, because of the multitude of people and livestock in it.
Zec 2:5  And I will be to her a wall of fire all around, declares the LORD, and I will be the glory in her midst.'”

The first thing I saw this morning is that you cant measure God. In Isaiah it talks about our thoughts being so far from His. As far as the heaven is from the earth. We have no idea. We think we do, which is probably most times laughable to God.

Zec 2:10  Sing and rejoice, O daughter of Zion, for behold, I come and I will dwell in your midst, declares the LORD.

How lovely is that? What more do we need to know?

Then it was interesting in the 7:6 when the Lord asks, ‘And when you eat and when you drink, do you not eat for yourselves and drink for yourselves?’ He was asking about fasting, mourning, feasting. Do we really do these things unto God? That the things that matter to God are matters of the heart, not necessarily things people can see with their eyes.

Zec 7:9  “Thus says the LORD of hosts, Render true judgments, show kindness and mercy to one another,
Zec 7:10  do not oppress the widow, the fatherless, the sojourner, or the poor, and let none of you devise evil against another in your heart.”

Then in Chapter 9 something jolted my spirit. These 3 words. ‘prisoner of hope.’

Zec 9:12  Return to your stronghold, O prisoners of hope; today I declare that I will restore to you double.

Most times I think of strongholds as things that have me captive that I (almost) cant be rid of. Especially without Him! But this verse means HE is our stronghold! HE is who holds us strong, is holding us when we cant hold ourselves. How we can be a prisoner of lots of things in this life. Death, disease, our imaginations, our evil nature, addictions, the flesh. But how beautifully He twists it here, changing it completely around! That He has called us out of bondage and we can now be prisoners of Hope! Amazing!

Zec 11:13  Then the LORD said to me, “Throw it to the potter”–the lordly price at which I was priced by them. So I took the thirty pieces of silver and threw them into the house of the LORD, to the potter.

I dont know why but I always get excited when I read that the Lord has a sarcastic personality sometimes. 🙂 Another version I have here says instead of lordly price, it says, handsome price.

Zec 13:9  And I will put this third into the fire, and refine them as one refines silver, and test them as gold is tested. They will call upon my name, and I will answer them. I will say, ‘They are my people’; and they will say, ‘The LORD is my God.'”

So THIS is whats happening to us! lol Sometimes I want to tell Him, ‘Look Lord, its getting hot in here..’ But read on! to these, he answers them!! Praise God. No matter where we are, as long as He is with us and still answers us its not really that bad, or hot.

Finally to end this blog that everyone probably already stopped reading because its so long.. 🙂

I have been looking for TODAY in the scriptures. You can read old testament and find ok, this is where they are talking about Jesus. This is where He is raised from the dead. This is where this happens, but what about today? In 2008. What about us? Where are we? I think I found a little bit of us today.

Zec 14:20  And on that day there shall be inscribed on the bells of the horses, “Holy to the LORD.” And the pots in the house of the LORD shall be as the bowls before the altar.

When common items (bells of the horses!) or people are inscribed ‘Holy to the  Lord.’ Businessmen, housewives, children, postal workers, teachers, wal-mart stockers, it goes on and on and on. This isnt for an elite section of people. This isnt just the ministry that is marked with ‘Holy unto the  Lord.’ (Thinking of the outfit of the priest in the Tabernacle..) This is normal, common people marked with, ‘HOLY UNTO THE LORD.’ This is me and you!!!!

Help us, Lord to be marked by you today in all we say. In all we do. In our hearts. As we walk around town. You change the common into the Holy. Thank you, Lord for the beauty I found and needed in your word today.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to zechariah

  1. Janelle says:

    I read the whole thing. 🙂 “Prisoner of hope” – that is awesome. I read somewhere that we delude ourselves in thinking we will ever be the master of our lives. Instead, Jesus us invites us to transfer from one master to another, and our prison cell can become the Holy of Holies. Oh to return to the true stronghold instead of my phony ones! Love you, hope you have a good day.

  2. I read the whole thing, too! 🙂 Loved everyword, and I’m going to read Zechariah now! You really encouraged me, thanks for sharing! I really loved the part about the “common man”, me and you, marked, “Holy”. May we never forget our place, we are the children of the most high God, children of the King, clay in the Potters hand, silver and gold, that HE is making ready for the Kingdom, let it burn Lord, kill the dross in my life, I want to shine, not in my glory, but in you alone.

    Cheer up, my friend, the Lord is on your side.
    B.

  3. Gina says:

    “You change the common into the Holy.” That’s awesome. He certainly does not leave us comfortless. I am so glad that He can take our ordinary lives and make something extraordinary with them. Love you!

  4. Tina says:

    I just read this on my cell. I am up on the campground. I hope this comment will go thru. I just wanted to tell you that u totally are awesome. just reading how even a nobody like me with absolutely nothing to offer can still be marked as something of value to GOD… your words encouraged me today and I’m gonna go read Zechariah now too! Love you. Wish u could have made it to the meeting but totally understand your need to be home with Jan. How is she doing?

  5. Sarah says:

    Tina, Glad you read my blog and were able to comment. During the meeting, no doubt. (lol) We watched online, so glad we dont have to miss it completely. I’ll update soon. Everything is so far so good.

    thanks for comments, love to all. -s

Leave a Reply

