call back.

Life is a steep climb, and it does the heart good to have somebody ‘call back’ and cheerily beckon us up on the high hill. We are all climbers together, and we must help one another. This mountain climbing is serious business, but glorious. It takes strength and steady step to find the summits. The outlook widens with the altitude. If anyone among us has found anything worthwhile, we ought to ‘call back.’

If you have gone a little way ahead of me, call back-’twill cheer my heart and help my feet along the stony track;And if perchance, Faith’s light is dim, because the oil is low, Your call will guide my lagging course as wearily I go.

Call back and tell me that He went with you into the storm; Call back and say that He kept you when the forest’s roots were torn; That when the heavens thunder and the earthquake shook the hill, He bore you up and held you where the very air was still.

Oh, friend, call back, and tell me for I cannot see your face; They say it glows with triumph, and your feet bound in the race; But there are mists between us and my spirit eyes are dim, And I cannot see the glory, though I long for word of Him.

But if you say He heard you when your prayer was but a cry, And if you’ll say He saw you through the nights sin-darkened sky- If you have gone a little way ahead, oh, friend, call back. ’twill cheer my heart and help my feet along the stony track.

-Mrs Charles E Cowman ‘Streams in the Desert’

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to call back.

  1. Julie says:

    Beautiful! That is. (Kate wanted me to put the IM Darth Vader but I didn’t think it fit.) lol

  2. Sarah says:

    Julie, commenting like Yoda, you are.. and I think you could have made Darth Vader work if you tried. πŸ™‚

  3. Tina says:

    Laughing at both of you, I am.

  4. Janelle says:

    This is so good! Once again your blog brings me to tears. Grateful tears today because I CAN say “He went with (me) into the storm … He heard (me) when (my) prayer was but a cry …” Thank you for the reminder.

    I think I need to watch the Star Wars movies, I have NO IDEA what you guys are talking about. πŸ™‚

  5. Ann says:

    Sarah,
    This is so beautiful. Not only will HE hear your cry, HE will protect you and give you sweet peace. I can tell you that to be true because I have “gone a little way ahead”. And when the storm seems to be the darkest,and scariest HE WAS and still IS in control.
    I can see another storm coming. So, I wanted to “call back ” and tell you my friend, HE IS STILL THE MASTER OF THE WIND. HE will be there for us. I love you.

  6. Lucy says:

    Thanks so much for sharing this…how desperately we need our hearts ‘cheered’ on our journey…

Leave a Reply

