all for all.

I found this quote and words below on a blog just now and wanted to share. I do not know who Wilbur Reese is but I do know the person he wrote about. Many days, this is me.

“I would like to buy three dollars worth of God, please. Not enough to explode my soul or disturb my sleep, but just enough of Him to equal a cup of warm milk or a snooze in the sunshine. I don’t want enough of Him to make me love a black man or pick beets with a migrant. I want ecstasy, not transformation. I want the warmth of the womb, not a new birth. I want a pound of the eternal in a paper sack, please. I would like to buy three dollars worth of God, please.”

Wilbur Reese penned these tongue-in-cheek words to capture the unspoken, but very real sentiment of many people.

Some people think that God is a good thing to include in your life as along as He really doesn’t get in the way or require too many changes.  As long as the cost isn’t too great, God is given His place – right beside all the other activities and obligations that vie for our attention.

God had a different idea.

God said this in Jeremiah 29:13: ” You will seek me and find me when you search for me with all your hearts. “

We are tempted to think we can get out of God what we put into Him. If I want a little more I can give a little more. I can read a few extra pages in the Bible, say an extra prayer, go to church a little bit more. However, God is not for sale at any price.

God offers ONE deal: All I am for all you are.

The passage in Jeremiah tells us that half-hearted efforts really dont impress God.

God loves us supremely, but He is not interested in half-hearted worshippers. The day is coming when every person will need to decide if they are wholeheartedly devoted to the Lord or just seeking enough of God to feel better.

Jesus gave His all for you. He asks you to do the same for him. Thats not an unreasonable request.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to all for all.

  1. Amen! Selah!! We must be TOTALLY SOLD OUT to the Lord. Thanks for the reminder! So many times we let this world and its distractions consume us 100%, and then when we have a need from our Lord, we approach it like a fast food drive thru, we place our $3.00 order and we expect it to be accurate and fast, and then if it is not fast enough, we complain! Serving our Lord is a full time commitment, through the good and the bad times, all of Him for all of me, I just pray that I can be that 100% Christian. B.

  2. Gina says:

    we have been talking about God seeing our hearts this weekend… and how going through the motions isn’t what He’s looking for, but rather a people who serve Him with all their hearts, minds and soul. I don’t want to only serve God when it’s convienent for me, but all the time regardless of the cost.

  3. Lucy says:

    This is an excellent and thought provoking post. The quote really packs a punch. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

