Would you say it again, what you said to me?

True Things

(Click on that to hear)

True Things by jj heller
I am not the clothes I’m wearing
I am not a photograph
I am not the car I drive

I am not the money I make
I am not the things I lack
I am not the songs I write

I am… who I am
I am who I am

There are true things inside of me
I have been afraid to see
I believe, help my unbelief
Would you say again what you said to me
I am loved
I am free
I believe, help my unbelief

I am not the house I live in
I am not the man I love
I am not the mistakes that I carry

I am not the food that I don’t eat
I am not what I’m above
I am not my scars and my history

To your love
I’m waking up
In your love
I’m waking up

I think the reason I am wearing out this song is for the feelings it brings out when I listen to it. It kind of goes with the ‘stories’ thing. (see Janelles blog.) My life has been a story, human nature tells me the best predictor of your future is your past. But God does away with your past thru repentance and love, then begins to write a new story. I dont want my life to be defined by my past. I dont want to be classified into a file folder named ‘mistakes’ or ‘failures’ and filed away forever, never being able to get out.

Dont you want to believe we can be what He says we can be? I cant ever be a part of the Kingdom of God if I am suffocating myself into the mistakes I have made. Or who the world says I am. I love the freedom this song evokes inside of me. Give it a listen.

John 8:36  So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Would you say it again, what you said to me?

  1. Travis says:

    I was driving back from school Monday nite and this thought dropped into my head, “If my life is a story, I want the words to be actions of praise to my Savior.” It kind of came and went. Then when you mentioned story, I thought of it again…
    Travis

Leave a Reply

