Blackaby comes through again..

“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, For they shall be filled.” (Matthew 5:6)

Hunger and thirst are the body’s way of telling us that we are “empty.” Our natural response to physical hunger and thirst is to seek food and water to satisfy our need. Each Christian has an inner longing that only Christ’s righteousness can satisfy. But we cannot be filled with righteousness if we are filled with self.

Throughout the Scriptures God emphasizes that the one who longs for Him with all his heart will find Him (Jer. 29:13). As we crave righteousness, we will repent of our sin, and God will remove it from us. Our selfishness will be replaced by the fruits of the Spirit: love, joy, peace, long-suffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control (Gal. 5:22–23). The Spirit will make us to be like Christ.

Righteousness is not to be taken lightly, nor is it easily attained. Holy God does not give His righteousness to people indiscriminately. He gives it to those who know they cannot live without it. Our desire for personal righteousness must be powerful, all-consuming, dominating everything we do. Pursuing righteousness means that we value the opinion of God far more than we treasure the opinions of people.

Righteousness is not merely an absence of sin. It is allowing God to fill us with His holiness (Rom. 6:11). It is being like Christ. Jesus is our model of One who sought God’s righteousness first, and then the Father glorified Him. We are not only to seek the kingdom of God, but we are also to pursue His righteousness (Matt. 6:33). If we will hunger and thirst for righteousness, we will be satisfied!

Something in that verse of Jeremiah got inside my head today. The longing in our hearts to find Him. Turns out this scripture is in todays reading. Like the Lord DOUBLY wanted to hit that home. We’ve all heard this scripture a hundred times. or more.

Jer 29:11 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.

But the next 2 verses-

Jer 29:12 Then shall ye call upon me, and ye shall go and pray unto me, and I will hearken unto you.
Jer 29:13 And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart.

Blackaby said, ‘Righteousness isnt merely the absence of sin, it is allowing God to fill us with His holiness. …And that we cannot be filled with anything if we are full of self.’ These things have pricked my heart today. Always when there is a promise to be given, there is usually another half of the sentence. Call upon me, pray unto me —> I will hearken unto you. Come unto me weary and heavy laden —> I will give you rest. Draw nigh unto me —> I will draw nigh unto you. If we don’t hunger and thirst, we wont be filled, we wont get a drink. Matthew 5:6 says we have to thirst after righteousness. Being thirsty isn’t enough. But to thirst after the right things. And we have to use ALL of our hearts. He wants it all.

Click below, its a song.

Take my life

Holiness, holiness is what I long for.
Holiness is what I need.
Holiness, holiness is what You
want from me.

So, take my heart and form it.
Take my mind and transform it.
Take my will and conform it.
To Yours, to Yours, oh, Lord.

Faithfulness, faithfulness is what I
long for.
Faithfulness is what I need.
Faithfulness, faithfulness is what.
You want from me.

Brokenness, brokenness is what I
long for.
Brokenness is what I need.
Brokenness, brokenness is what
You want from me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blackaby comes through again..

  1. Julie says:

    All I can say is YOU ARE AWESOME!

  2. Sarah says:

    Seriously. Why wouldnt I approve that comment? LOL love you, Julie.

  3. Gina says:

    Great devotional… “Righteousness isn’t merely the absence of sin, it is allowing God to fill us with His holiness. … And that we cannot be filled with anything if we are full of self.” That sticks out. I need to remember that as I go throughout my day… am I thinking of myself here or Christ? Good heart-pricking thoughts.

  4. Wow! You are an inspiration! Bridget

Leave a Reply

