Reformers

So the last thing I did before going to sleep last night was clean up a jar of picklejuice off the floor. Why dont pickles come in plastic bottles? Reesie tried to help himself to a pickle before bed. (?) Oh well. My mouth was watering the whole time I cleaned it from the smell. Which now the thought makes me want to throw up a little…

Yesterday was Ernie’s birthday. We ended up having dinner with some friends and getting owned during a game of spades. Its been so long since we played cards at all-while we were playing I wondered why. It was a fun evening. Next year is the big 4-0. Thats weird.

There is a word thats been on my mind lately. Reformation. Definite it? Okay. 🙂

  • make changes for improvement in order to remove abuse and injustices;
  • a change for the better as a result of correcting abuses;
  • improve by alteration or correction of errors or defects and put into a better condition;
  • change for the better;

I like that last one. Its easy. Change for the better. A few nights ago I watched a documentary on Netflix of Martin Luther to try to better understand the word, Reform. I couldn’t help but notice how supremely devoted to the Lord he was, while also admiring his obedience. Obedience to the degree he had must be a gift from the Lord in itself. My favorite quote, “If anyone could have gained heaven as a monk, then I would indeed have been among them.”

After watching the documentary I wondered what Martin Luther felt inside that made him do the things he did. The fire that burned inside no one put there, but on it burned. Burning for truth, and for our Lord. No one asked him to nail the 95 thesis to the door of the castle church. Out of the abundance of the fire within, came that action.

Reminds me of this scripture.. Isaiah 6:8 Also I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, Whom shall I send, and who will go for us? Then said I, Here am I; send me. The Lord didn’t sit Isaiah down and tell him what to do, what to feel or how to say it. Isaiah just did it. He had a fire burning inside that made him utter, ‘Here am I, send me.’ The whole scene is amazing.

But those words haunt me a little.

I feel the fire burning, then it is at times quenched by fear. Fear that I do not have what it takes to back it up or follow it through.. Maybe thats why Luther’s quote on being a monk spoke to me so.. It shouldn’t come out of a belief that I can do it.

Long ago there was a theory that the earth was flat, which seems to have come from a lot of pagan ideas and mythology. It took explorers with a burning desire inside of them to debunk the theory that the earth was flat.. No one told them what to do, they felt something and acted on it. That forever changed how we think of the earth!

So then watching stories of beloved missionaries with hearts burning for the will of God, trying desperately to love like He does, I think more on reform. More on the feeling of our hearts turning violently inside of our chests. Wanting to turn this world inside out and upside down for God. No one told Jackie Pullinger to go to the walled city in Hong Kong. She just went.

I don’t want to sit around waiting to be told what to do. I have my own fire burning inside. Granted sometimes its a flicker of a flame but then I read this.. Isa 42:3 A bruised reed shall he not break, and the smoking flax shall he not quench: he shall bring forth judgment unto truth. I noticed this verse is mentioned 2 times in the bible. The other time is in Matthew 12:20. Where the word truth is exchanged for victory!

OK I am ending with this verse. One I want to understand more. To be a better disciple of the one who can do this. Who did this. Who is still doing this.

Isa 61:1 The Spirit of the Lord GOD is upon me; because the LORD hath anointed me to preach good tidings unto the meek; he hath sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to them that are bound;
Isa 61:2 To proclaim the acceptable year of the LORD, and the day of vengeance of our God; to comfort all that mourn;
Isa 61:3 To appoint unto them that mourn in Zion, to give unto them beauty for ashes, the oil of joy for mourning, the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness; that they might be called trees of righteousness, the planting of the LORD, that he might be glorified.

Lord, We need the fire burning deep inside. Bring on your reformation.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reformers

  1. Gina says:

    Bring it on! That movie Luther was really good. After reading “Pagan Christianity” I am feeling the need for a revolutionary shift in the way we do things… I’m excited to see where God will take us from here.

Leave a Reply

