Impelled

Definition: To drive or urge forward or on; to press on; to incite to action or motion in any way. driven: urged or forced to action through moral pressure

My new favorite word. Its like compelled. But even stronger.

I heard this word said by Jackie Pullinger on a documentary last night. We watched her story called, The Law of Love. I have seen a LOT of documentaries on mission work and probably read even more-this was the most incredible I have ever seen. I was completely captivated by this woman. Her faith seemed not-quite-human and the place she went to was somewhere I didnt even know existed. Some places you see and think, I could do that. I could make that good. This place-no way. The walled city in Hong Kong. It is worse than your mind can even think. Heroin is the drug of choice. I cant even explain how this woman went in there and God was with her. It was sort of like Cross and the Switchblade but much, much more hardcore.

There was one part of the story where she said, “You cant just come in here and say, Jesus loves you. These people will look at you and say, ‘So, what does that mean to me?’ They dont know who Jesus is, and they have never been loved. I had to be Jesus to them.”

This sentence has haunted me a bit. I can tell people ‘Jesus loves you’ but am I being Jesus to them?

Yesterday morning I was overwhelmed by the song some of the youth sang, ‘Its my desire..’ (you can watch it on the church media page.) When it got to the part about being His hands and feet, each time I just wept. Am I being Jesus’ hands and feet? Because there ARE pure hearted people right now on this Earth that are interested in being Jesus’ hands and feet. He will use those that have a heart like that. Am I being Jesus’ hands and feet, to my own family? To my own community? Is it even my desire to do this?

So, if you have netflix check it out for free, or you can buy it at the link above. It will change you. Through a ministry of prayer, God can change people. He can give peace that passes understanding. You cant buy that kind of peace. He can come with his Holy Spirit and transform. Dont you want to believe? With all your soul that He can do these things we read about? I do. I have heard we use only a few percentage of our brains. I think I have been only using a few percentage of my holy ghost. I want to use it more. (even more than my brain, actually.) I want to be a functioning part of the church Jesus built. My heart is so full, but so grieved because I see where I fail and feel I could never measure up.

Most of all, I am so thankful that He sees me. And loves me. Right here in my human condition.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Impelled

  1. Ernie says:

    Here is a pic the walled city. She went into this city @ 22 yrs old alone and started delivering heroin addicts thru the Power of God! I cant find to many pics of the inside but it is crazy, no lights , rats , heroin suppliers, etc…. What can God not do?????

    After Japan’s surrender, squatters [mostly newcomers] began to occupy the Walled City, resisting several attempts by Britain in 1948 to drive them out. With no wall to protect it, the Walled City became a haven for crooks and drug addicts, as the Hong Kong Police had no right to enter the City. Mainland China refused to take care of it. The foundation of the People’s Republic of China in 1949 added thousands of refugees to the population.
    This is my favorite paragraph. By this time it is the late 1970’s and 1980’s:

    Square buildings folded up into one another as thousands of modifications were made, virtually none by architects or engineers, until hundreds of square meters were simply a kind of patchwork monolith. Labyrinthine corridors ran through the monolith, some of those being former streets (at the ground level, and often clogged up with trash), and some of those running through upper floors, practically between buildings. The streets were illuminated by fluorescent lights, as sunlight was rare except for the rooftops. The only rules of construction were twofold: electricity had to be provided to avoid fire, and the buildings could be no more than about fourteen stories high, because of the nearby airport. A mere eight municipal pipes somehow provided water to the entire structure (although more could have come from wells).

    … the story continues:

    Over time, both the British and the Chinese governments found the massive, anarchic city to be increasingly intolerable – despite the low reported crime rate. The quality of life in the city, sanitary conditions in particular, was far behind the rest of Hong Kong. After the Joint Declaration in 1984, the Peoples Republic of China agreed with British authorities to demolish the City and resettle its inhabitants. The mutual decision to tear down the walled city was made in 1987. At that time, it had 50,000 inhabitants on 0.026 km², and therefore a very high population density of 1,900,000 / km². At its height, it was one of the most densely populated urban areas on Earth.

    Evacuations started in 1991 and were completed in 1992. The 1993 movie Crime Story starring Jackie Chan was partly made in the deserted Walled City, and includes real scenes of building explosions. Kowloon Walled City was destroyed in the same year. Also, as the Walled City was beginning to be torn down, a group of Japanese explorers took about a week to tour the empty walled city, making a sort of map and a cross section of the city.

    http://bloglikeyougiveadamn.blogspot.com/2007/09/friday-photography-kowloon-walled-city.html

  2. jodithurman says:

    that’s amazing. while i have been on vacation i have been thinking a lot about how i treat my patients at work, especially those who need to be delievered from drugs or alcohol. i really feel like a different person at work, no compassion. i went to skyline yesterday just to get money out of savings and driving up that hill turned me cynical again. i don’t think that’s what god had in mind! i like what you said about using a greater percentage of your holy ghost. i know exactly what you mean. sorry this is so long!

  3. Janelle says:

    Wow, that is incredible! You’re right about her faith not being human, what a gift from the Lord! To be able to love the unlovable, that’s just like Him.

Leave a Reply

