Deconstructing Denim

I learned how to use my sewing machine! I spent a day and a half on this, but still I have looked for a decent denim skirt for that long, and when I found one it wasnt even half as cool as this one.

Found the Gap jeans at goodwill, $3.00- I wanted a cool wash and a stretchy denim. I love Gap’s denim. I found another skirt in a print I liked, thats the red print one, for the panel. The front panel I just used the legs that I cut off of the jeans and sewed them into strips. I imagine this is how you quilt. It all make pretty good sense to me in my head and it came out perfectlY! Its not a perfect skirt, I didnt want it to be.

I still need to make a few hems with red thread and it will look more finished. I am not a fan of fringe. Its so cute! I had Brad take some pics with it on me-no head I said.. He is my little photo stylist. Im not thrilled with the pic (‘Tell, em’ Large Marge sent ya’ comes to mind.) but it shows how it fits.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Deconstructing Denim

  1. Gina says:

    HURRAY! good job πŸ™‚ It’s so rewarding to wear something you created! I am reading up on making my own cloth napkins, placemats, and cloth “paper” towels:) I am tired of buying paper everything and I want to see my table instead of a table cloth… anyways…

    I had a great time hanging out with you (the little time we got). You all will just have to make a trip up here and stay with us for a week. Then we will really get some time together. Let me know where you got that pattern for baby leg warmers, I am thinking I will have to learn to knit this winter;) Love and miss you guys already!!!

  2. Tina says:

    Jacklynn said you did pretty good! She is the seamstress in this family. LOL. She wants to go to Goodwill now and buy some bluejeans. GOOD JOB! **HIGH FIVE**

  3. Sarah says:

    Thanks, guys! Well, it is cheaper way to buy jean skirts. You can at least get a cool denim that you like, light or dark. Instead of buying whatever happens to be in season which is sometimes l-a-m-e. Google it, Tina and Jacklynn could totally do it. If I can. Anyone can. Hers would be so cuter too. Cant wait to see you tomorrow! High-Five

    Gina, I love cloth paper towels. I buy the bar-mop towels though at wal-mart and we use them as napkins. Do they sell the diaper cotton material by the yard? I am so thankful for the internet. Just about anything you could want to make has a website with such helpful info on it. Post pics of what you make too. You inspire me with your matching outfits- I just need daughters for that.. πŸ™‚

  4. bellissimanh says:

    How cool is that?? I love it! Great job, Sarah!

Leave a Reply

