The Glass

The other day we watched Sarah Plain and Tall. All 3 parts. I loved it! You would have to guess I got something spiritual out of it. You get what you can. Be glad im not blogging about Willy Wonka. 🙂

There was one part in it where there was a drought in the prairie. The little boy, Caleb saw how distraught his parents were. They lost all their crops, everything dried up. Even wells were drying up and their friends left the prairie. But Jacob would not leave. Instead he sent his family away to visit Sarahs home by the sea in Maine. But.. before they left, Caleb took a drinking glass and set it on the post near the porch. His dad asked, what is that for? He said, “To catch the rain.” He wanted to measure the rain when it came. This little act of faith got his father through the toughest times. When Im sure he wanted to give up, he would see Calebs glass on the fence.

And when it rained, the glass was the first thing know it.

I was thinking about this quote..

Hope is the thing with feathers
That perches in the soul,
And sings the tune without the words,
And never stops at all.

Its one of my favorite things written by Emily Dickenson. The Bible says in Hebrews 11:1  Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen. Then it goes on to talk about the heroes of faith and how when you read it, they actually knew very little about what was ahead for them. But they had faith.

Sometimes we dont know where we are going. Sometimes the way seems uncertain. I have a little lamp that a friend got Ernie for his birthday a few years back. its like the ones used even before Jesus’ time. You hold it, and the little lamp only gives enough light for your next step. Sometimes we want to see whats waaaaaay out ahead of us. So we can get that 5 year plan working. (lol) but, really, all we need is enough light to take the next step. It doesnt matter how dark and uncertain it is. We have light enough for the next step.

I want to put the glass on the fence.

Mark 10:15  Verily I say unto you, Whosoever shall not receive the kingdom of God as a little child, he shall not enter therein.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Glass

  1. Julie says:

    Just wanted to say great thoughts! We are all still readig even though it’s VBS and we are exhausted!

  2. Tina says:

    DUDE. I have not watched any of these movies.

    I know. I know.

    Who is Willy Wonka?

    Okay. So, that was a joke. I do know who Willy Wonka is… but seriously, I have not watched the Sara Plain and Tall movies. The kids and I have been watching the Love Comes Softley movies round the clock.

    P.S.
    I expected a reply about my “RAD” reply/text…. but you didn’t say anything. What gives? You don’t like me using your words? LOL.

  3. Sarah says:

    Tina, I am convinced I have come into your life for a reason.

    LOL you and your kids would LOVE sarah plain and tall its with glenn close and christopher walken. There is 3 of them in the series. Great pajama weekend material. Go rent them. We have Ben-Hur now and Swiss Family Robinson. Gullivers Travels was odd but we liked it a lot. It was like a 4 1/2 hour movie. Willy Wonka was good too, been a while since we saw that one.

    I laughed outloud at your using the word ‘RAD.’ -high five. See you soon!!

  4. Tina says:

    You have come in to my life to expand my vocabulary… I have learned LOTS. LOL. Not to mention, thanks to you, I now have a Facebook, visit craigslist, can recognize a Jason Upton tune, and LOVE Rob Bell. So, see… you ROCK my world. LOL.

    PSYCH!

    **High Five**

  5. Jan says:

    I loved that movie too, Sarah Plain and Tall… have watched all three dozens of times… I just wish I liked Glenn Close better, I wish it’d been someone else in that role. First movie Chris Walken ever was in that he didnt’ scare the beejeebers out of me. : )
    was odd casting I thought, for the characters, but…… it is a great great movie, especially seen thru your eyes. thank you. luv you

Leave a Reply

