Our reward awaits..

I hate to clean the bathroom. I mean I hate it. Scrubbing a toilet, scrubbing the tub, getting all the hair off the floor. Not my favorite job. I also don’t really like to do laundry, stripping the bed, and re-making it is a hassle. I don’t like to cook dinner either. Coming up with something everyone will actually eat. Going to buy the food, then cooking it. Then the dishes. Oh joy. This morning while I was cleaning behind the toilet, (lol) some voices came into my head. Don’t worry, I haven’t lost it-yet. 🙂

The first one was of Brad when he tells me, ‘mom it smells so good in here!’ after I have cleaned. Or my own voice when I climb into bed at night smelling Tide & Downey on fresh sheets, saying to myself, ‘this is great.’ Or Rees and Brad telling me, ‘Mom, you’re the best dinner cooker.’ Not to mention how good I feel when I have fed my family something nutritious. Or like Ernie saying in the morning how thankful he is for me, (because I got up, ironed for him and made his lunch.) Not that I do these things for those rewards, I do them because I love my family. Those feelings and statements just make it sweeter.

What I’m mainly thinking here is if I enjoy all of these things, how much more am I going to enjoy my reward in heaven that awaits? I don’t really think my mind can comprehend how amazing my life is going to be in 50 years or so, whenever I die. Im not talking about doing something good and getting a pat on the head. Im talking about laboring here, all my life, growing in Him, learning all I can about Him and His ways, changing, molding myself into His image. We do all these things for a reason.

One of my favorite lines from Narnia is when Aslan asks Peter, “Do you doubt the prophecy?” I love it so much because no matter what we face, there is something we are working towards, a completion of time, a fulfillment of prophecy, if you will. This labor isnt going to go unrewarded. If we remain steadfast, with our single eye on Him, working diligently whatever our hands find to do, unto HIM. If we hold onto our hope despite hopelessness, if we repent and grow, controlling our own spirits, apply what we read in the Bible and learn, seek revelation from Him. If through this life, we learn what it means to really love… We will receive a reward beyond our greatest imaginations or expectations.

Here are a few scriptures that I was thinking of as I considered this reward..

**

Col 3:23 Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men,
Col 3:24 knowing that from the Lord you will receive the inheritance as your reward. You are serving the Lord Christ.

Heb 10:35 Therefore do not throw away your confidence, which has a great reward.

2Jn 1:8 Watch yourselves, so that you may not lose what we have worked for, but may win a full reward.

Luk 12:32 “Fear not, little flock, for it is your Father’s good pleasure to give you the kingdom.

Luk 12:34 For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.
Luk 12:35 “Stay dressed for action and keep your lamps burning,
Luk 12:36 and be like men who are waiting for their master to come home from the wedding feast, so that they may open the door to him at once when he comes and knocks.

Rev 3:11 I am coming soon. Hold fast what you have, so that no one may seize your crown.
Rev 3:12 The one who conquers, I will make him a pillar in the temple of my God. Never shall he go out of it, and I will write on him the name of my God, and the name of the city of my God, the new Jerusalem, which comes down from my God out of heaven, and my own new name.

I believe. Lord, help my unbelief.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

