BUT our eyes are on you

This was yesterday’s Blackaby Devotion-it was so good. I didnt ever get it completely about Moses smiting the Rock in frustration. How we can do this too and miss out completely on what the Lord has for us!

2Ch 20:12 O our God, will you not execute judgment on them? For we are powerless against this great horde that is coming against us. We do not know what to do, but our eyes are on you.”

Fix Your Eyes on God

And Moses and Aaron gathered the assembly together before the rock; and he said to them, “Hear now, you rebels! Must we bring water for you out of this rock?” (Numbers 20:10)

It is easy to see why Moses became frustrated with the Hebrew people. They were so hard-hearted and weak in their faith that Moses lost his patience and became angry with them. Yet every time Moses shifted his focus away from God, it cost him. When he sought to help his people by taking matters into his own hands, he spent the next forty years herding sheep in the wilderness_(Exod. 2:11–15). This time his impetuous behavior cost him the opportunity to enter the Promised Land (Num. 20:12). In his frustration at the peoples’ irreverence, Moses committed the very same sin, blatantly disobeying God’s instructions. How did this happen? Moses allowed his attention to shift to the behavior of others rather than focusing on the activity of God.

This could happen to you as well. God has put people around you who need your ministry to them. You will never be able to properly help them, however, unless your primary focus is on God. If you concentrate on people, their weaknesses, their disobedience, their lack of faith, and their stubbornness will quickly frustrate you. You may, like Moses, commit the very sins you are condemning. If, however, your eyes are fixed on holy God, you will become more like Him—gracious, forgiving, long-suffering, and righteous. When a friend’s behavior disappoints you, go immediately to the Lord. Seek to discern what God is wanting to do in your friend’s life rather than concentrating on your friend’s sin. Then you will have the strength, wisdom, and patience you need to help your friend in the way God desires.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to BUT our eyes are on you

  1. Ernie says:

    I really liked this in that devo:

    When a friend’s behavior disappoints you, go immediately to the Lord. Seek to discern what God is wanting to do in your friend’s life rather than concentrating on your friend’s sin. Then you will have the strength, wisdom, and patience you need to help your friend in the way God desires.

    good stuff–

  2. Sarah says:

    Babe, Oh I liked that too. This devotional has given me such a different perspective thats spilling over onto everything in my life!

    Example: Brad and Rees just got into a fight. Brad was right, Rees was wrong. Rees took a toy from him and ran, he was hiding it and himself in the couch. Brad, then filled with righteous indignation, (lol) went after him. I watched the whole thing! I told Brad, “Brad chill. come here now.” (He was going to get Rees good, I could tell..) he walked over to me in a huff. I took a minute to talk to him about his spirit and told him, even if you are RIGHT, you are instantly WRONG if you lose it. The only thing you are in control of is your spirit. Then I asked Rees to come over and asked him, what should you do right now? He gave the toy back, apologized and they hugged. I told Brad, now wasnt that easier than you killing him over a toy? (another lol) You can let ME take care of it, or you can make a bigger mess by trying to take care of it yourself!! (oh, man. that hurts!)

    But ever since I read this article I have been feeling like, even if Im right, I can be dead wrong depending on how I respond.. Because in the end, we’re all accountable-to God. Someone a while back talked about our response and how we are judged or rewarded (blessed or cursed) depending on our response. Help me, Lord!

  3. Tina says:

    Girl… you just gave me a whoopin. I don’t know whether to say thank you or cross my arms in a huff and never speak to you again.
    LOL.

    I can just hear you telling Brad to “chill”. LOL. You kill me.

    -T

  4. Sarah says:

    Tina, Just passing it along! lol Believe me when I read that yesterday morning I felt like the wind was a bit knocked out of me. But its the kind of whoopin’ that makes you feel better afterwards. love, S

  5. rachel hunt says:

    I really enjoyed this devotion! What a good lesson in keeping our eyes on the Lord. It is so easy to focus more on what people do and what we think about it than it is for us to pray over them and their condition…OR the flip side…be too concerned with what they think about us (our decisions etc…). I don’t mean seeking not to offend or hurt someone, I mean letting others’ – often superficial and misplaced priorities, opinions and expectations of us rule our life and decision. I love the title of one of Max Lucado’s books “The Applause of Heaven”. The title reminds me to strive for Heaven’s applause…not people’s. It’s all about keeping my eyes on God!

  6. Gina says:

    This was a seriously needed devotional. I mean for me, that is. The craziest things have been happening lately, and I am trying my hardest not to let it bother me. But this really put things into perspective. Having to remember that people are not perfect and will create problems for you, but to keep God as the focus and not the people and their offenses. Thank you for this. Sorry I have been MIA lately, it’s that time of year when I am rarely on the computer long enough to do anything. hope to talk with you soon:)

Leave a Reply

