Fresh Fire?

I am writing this blog as I listen to the live streaming from Lakeland, Florida. There have been rumors of a revival down there for 30+ days. Thousands of people have gathered, the news is there and then I also saw they have a chat room talking. With even more watching like me online. First of all I just learned that this..

\O/ \O/ \O/

..on the keyboard means praise the Lord. lol Isn’t that cute? See the little heads? Ah, anyways, I have to say I am a little uncomfortable with the whole thing going on there. But Im strangely intrigued by it. In some ways, my mind goes back to Class of 1996 Pep Rally in the gymnasium. Except people are literally chanting, ‘Jesus! Jesus! Jesus!’ and we yell-sang ‘We will Rock you.’ Their ministry is called Fresh Fire, but something inside of me isnt feeling so fresh about it.

Todd Bentley is now sporting new full sleeve tattoos and face piercings. Which I am mixed on (not the fact that he has them but the fact that the last time I saw him he was in a suit and these things are recent additions to his ministry.) But thats another blog. Between his talking about angelic encounters and the John Edwards-like psychic audience impressions, we saw a mother and her autistic son, go up. The mom fell out, the son did not. (?) He interrupts those on stage saying, ‘someone in the audience is being healed.. I see a left kidney.. someone come down with an oxygen tank,’ etc. etc. As if it just came off the wire for him and it could not wait. When Jesus was healing people I don’t remember him looking into the crowds saying, ‘Is someone here with a collapsed lung/broken ankle/arthritis?’

Also, the random Shik-a-laka-Boom’s & BAM’s! that Mr Bentley adds every so often don’t make it exactly easy for me to take him seriously.

Last nights service was a debt cancellation service. Which I think means if you give all you have to them, the Lord will mysteriously make your debt disappear. I would personally love that to happen but feel like it goes against the principle of giving to the Lord and His work. We don’t give to receive. He was saying people had been known to check their bank accounts the next day and money appeared in there. (?)

We read that during the Welsh Revival people were going to the grocery stores and paying off their debt because of the spirit of the Lord that was convicting them. This is the sort of debt-cancellation I feel like the Lord can bring!

On the flip side, seeing the people in their earnest expectation would about break your heart. I cried just watching it, these people really believe and I believe they could be healed, thats not the problem I have with all of this. There is a spirit about it that doesn’t feel right, the way Todd Bentley is going about it all. Not that I go off just ‘feelings’ but a lot of the things I hear him say cannot be backed up scripturally. There are also just so many scriptures I have been reading about discernment and deception..

Like the man in this weeks’ reading alone I read..
1Ki 13:18 And he said to him, “I also am a prophet as you are, and an angel spoke to me by the word of the LORD, saying, ‘Bring him back with you into your house that he may eat bread and drink water.'” But he lied to him.

He was a prophet from the Lord and was somehow deceived. None of us are above being deceived.

Jesus said, ‘My sheep know my voice.’ I don’t doubt the Lord could use this revival to get a hold of people and change them. I’m praying the Lord reveals Himself to every person there in a life changing way!! I believe they can (and will) be healed by their faith.

Im afraid it is manifestations like this that can make people feel leery about ‘revival’. At least it does me. When I think of the word ‘revival,’ I think of renewing, reviving dead parts, re-awakening of your faith, restoring. I feel like revival is a good thing, and I thank God I was revived from the walking dead one day.

Joel 2:28 “And it shall come to pass afterward, that I will pour out my Spirit on all flesh; your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, your old men shall dream dreams, and your young men shall see visions…

Act 2:1 When the day of Pentecost arrived, they were all together in one place.
Act 2:2 And suddenly there came from heaven a sound like a mighty rushing wind, and it filled the entire house where they were sitting.

Now that sounds like one heck of a revival..

….but thats all just my 2 cents. And it is, after all, my blog…

\O/ \O/ \O/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fresh Fire?

  1. Julie says:

    / / I love it!

  2. Julie says:

    Did you know its really hard to make those praise the Lord signs……I’m gonna try it again…..\O/

  3. Julie says:

    \O/ \O/ \O/ \O/ \O/

  4. Sarah says:

    Julie,
    did you read my blog or just love the little praise the Lord’s? lol (they are cute, huh?)

  5. AaronC says:

    Thanks for sharing your observations about this revival. I watched a little bit of the other night after Ernie sent me the link and had some similar thoughts to what you shared. Perhaps conviction is a major component missing in this revival…I desire God to convict me and give me the liberty that is available in Him. I believe it’s available to me every day. God help me.

  6. Ernie says:

    I am all for revival and peoples lives being changed. This is happening in Lakeland to a degree. God is using it. I am not looking for a miracle though. I am looking for a manifestation of the Sons of God, a Church that is walking in unity, purity, and charity…. Then the miracles will follow… I would encourage all to research Todd’s Ministry, his Doctrine, and this revival…. BAM!

  7. Julie says:

    I read your blog. I was only impressed with the symbols…lol

  8. Sarah says:

    Ernie, did you just add some oregano to your comment?

    Julie, thanks. 🙂 Good thing my love language isn’t words of affirmation. Shika-locka-boom-bam!

Leave a Reply

