Look up and lighten up!

This song I woke up with on my mind and have been humming all morning so far.

Look up and rejoice a new day has begun,

Look all around you, see what the Lord has done.

He has turned your darkness into a marvelous light,

Its the dawning of a new day and the future’s so bright.

Its one of those songs that always plays at church when you’re (or I’m) in a bad attitude, or had a bad day. Never fails. Then you have to sit there singing this chipper song- There is a part of me that I’m constantly trying to cast off of myself. The negative part that wants to sing, the future is NOT bright.

But it is. Another song we sing is standing on the promises. If we are standing on the promises we will not be like the man Neal spoke of last night that built his house on the sand. God’s word and promises are something of substance that will sustain us.

Our walk doesn’t have to be so hard.

I cant find it online but there is a story in the book, ‘How to have a Mary’s heart in a Martha world.’ Its about (if I remember correctly) The Lord asking a woman to wheel this empty wheelbarrow up this hill to Him. So she gets going and along the way runs into friends. One asks, can you take these rocks to the top of the hill? (could be a favor, or something they said to you that burdens you down) she says sure and loads them in, in her wheelbarrow and in her mind. This happens a few more times, and her wheelbarrow becomes cumbersome and a burden. She cries out to the Lord in frustration, I cant do this! You have asked me to do something too much for me! He says, I haven’t asked you to do this. Empty your wheelbarrow and put all the rocks to the side of the road. (gasp!! But I gave my word!) Then continue to come to me. So she does and her load is light again.

Sometimes my days are cumbersome and heavy, too much to bear. Perhaps its because I have taken on things, worries, stresses, burdens He hasnt asked me to take on. You could say, ‘ No, you don’t understand, this is my burden to bear and its waaaaaay to heavy.’ I think sometimes our burdens as are heavy as we make them, at least it seems like mine are.

He says, ‘My yoke is easy, my burden is light.’ This is the only scripture Brad knows and he recites it often to me, which I think is the Lord because he recites it to me when I have picked up too many rocks for too many other people. lol If He gives us a job, He will give us the strength to get that job done. I know sometimes I have to empty my wheelbarrow and come to Him.

But some days its about starting all over and trying again.. Thats where I’m at.

Mat 11:28 Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.
Mat 11:29 Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.
Mat 11:30 For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Look up and lighten up!

  1. madcatmike says:

    hey i have a hole bunch of music on my blog check it out

  2. Sarah says:

    Very nice, Michael! I comment but it doesn’t show up, did you get my post on the Great Dino Debate? Let me know.

Leave a Reply

