He had to come

The Bible reading led us into Judges this weekend. The story of Gideon is great. I LOVE how the Lord calls him a ‘great warrior’ just before he complained of being the least in his family and his clan being the weakest in Manasseh. Isnt that just like our Lord? To call you something that you arent yet? He sees the potential in all of us, so much so, that that is ALL He sees! We see weakness. He says, in your weakness I am made strong. Hallelujah!

If that doesn’t get you fired up, your wood is wet. (I dont think Bro Joel has that copy-righted just yet)

I was thinking about the old testament this weekend, how we read every few pages, or, every few generations, someone rise up with passion and zeal for our Lord and destroy the high places, purge out the idolatry, do something drastic in the name of the Lord. But then you turn the page, and we’re back to it again. Worshiping other Gods, forgetting what He did for us. Man can only do so much. Man can clear the idols out, the Baal altars, the Asherah poles, but man cannot change the hearts that desired them in the first place. Thats why Jesus had to come. I got this thought on Easter Sunday morning and just got completely beside myself with it. Jesus had to come to change our hearts, to help us see, and desire the things that are good. Man could only fix things temporarily, it was a band-aid. Jesus was the cure. He came so we might have life and have it more abundantly. Praise Him forever- if nothing else. We should be able to praise Him just for that! He came to cure our hearts.

Mat 15:18 But what comes out of the mouth proceeds from the heart, and this defiles a person.
Mat 15:19 For out of the heart come evil thoughts, murder, adultery, sexual immorality, theft, false witness, slander.
Mat 15:20 These are what defile a person….

He came to fix that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to He had to come

  1. rachel hunt says:

    So enjoyed this post!

    I have heard good things about Bro. Joel being in church there. I surely love some of the songs he and his family has written. I was wondering…did you receive the email I sent inquiring how to go about ordering DVDs of any services there. I was hoping to see one of when the Hemphills were there. I understand they’ve been there several times so I don’t know which one to ask for…perhaps you have a recommendation?? I probably need to look at the church’s website again it may tell there how to order the DVDs.

    Also, the How Great Is Our God DVD has really been a blessing here. We showed it at church and have loaned it out to several already. Are there any more of Louis Giglio’s DVDs that you especially recommend?

    Sorry for so many questions!
    Rachel

  2. rachel hunt says:

    Also, I am reading Rees Howells Intercessor! Wow!

  3. Sarah says:

    Rachel- Thanks for your comment! Im so thrilled you are enjoying Rees Howells intercessor.. I havent seen anything else Louie Giglio has out but I am interested in his other DVD’s as well. We ran into Giladriel (I dont know how to spell her name!) and her husband at Opry Mills a few weeks ago and they told us you had all watched it. Isnt it so good? He has a new name.. Star Breather.. love it!

    I dont remember getting the email from you. You can watch Sunday services now on our church website they are archived. Bro Joel preached this past Sunday morning and its on there, I saw it today.. I will order some services for you and send them out asap.

  4. rachel hunt says:

    Sarah…I don’t want to burden you with sending the DVDs. I know you are blessed with energy but I feel badly that you would have to take the time to do that for me.

    Yes, Galadriel told me about seeing you all there!

    I, too, like the “Star Breather” title!

  5. Sarah says:

    Rachel, let me look into it for you. It really isnt that much, I just have to talk to the A/V guys. They do the work, and have it ready. I just put it in the mail for you. I will ask about the services tonight. 🙂

Leave a Reply

