Determination

Because it was a sick day yesterday I put the boys to bed at 7:30 (only able to do this by with-holding their naps.) Ernie and I then had a good 4 hours together, weird, I dont think that has ever happened before. We actually watched a movie, that didnt sound out vowels to us. We watched the Count of Monte Cristo. Neither of us had seen it before,what a story.
By the time I laid my head down on the pillow, my mind would not turn off with a thought about determination.

The man escapes from prison. There is so much he has to overcome to get out of the prison, but each obstacle to get out was nothing compared to staying. He had a determination. A real determination.

I started to think on, replay my life in my mind from a little child as I went to sleep. I saw my faults, my struggles, my hurts, my deepest wounds replayed in my minds eye. Then I thought about my life after the Lord filled me with His spirit, and then a few years later when He radically awakened Ernie and I, wiping the sleep from our eyes. My life has been just like being in a prison for all those years. Now that I am out, I dont want to lose that determination. Over time you can forget. I want to remember the dark, cold, prison cell I was in all alone. Then He brought me out where I could feel the sunshine on my skin. When this man escaped and woke up on the beach it was probably the best morning of his life. I know that feeling. As I watched the movie, I lived it with him. Something would happen and I thought, This will not beat him. That will not beat him.

All we have been through in our own prisons then to only be held captive by anything this life could throw at us? Nothing can keep us down, if we remember the hell He lifted us out of. Nothing. He has saved us. From ourselves. From the pit of death. Nothing I could face now is worth going back into prison for.

I remember Bro Adrian testifying one time saying, ‘I have been radical for this world, and it didnt get me anywhere. So if you see me being radical here, thats why.’ I think of that from time to time, when you are delivered, something in that can make you a radical.

Be radical for the one that turns nights into days. Darkness into light, death into life, bondage into freedom. This verse below says IF. If He has set you free, you’re free! If He hasn’t, He can. Let Him.

John 8:36 So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.

Free here meaning:

ἐλευθερόω
eleutheroō
el-yoo-ther-o’-o
From G1658; to liberate, that is, (figuratively) to exempt (from moral, ceremonial or mortal liability): – deliver, make free.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Determination

  1. mandirowe says:

    I’ve seen the Count of Monte Cristo… You were just diggin on Dantes. I got your number. Determination? Come on.

  2. Sarah says:

    LOL you are too much.

  3. Janie says:

    When I first read Mandi’s comment I thought she meant you’re just digging in on him, as in you’ve just scratched the surface. Then I realized what she meant. Well he is gorgeous, but really, you’ve just scratched the surface. The movie left so much out!!! Its nothing like the book, it shouldn’t even have the same title! The main similarity though, is what you talked about, his determination. And I really liked how you applied that to real life. Great thoughts!

    But seriously, if you’re a reader you’ve got to read the book. I can’t hardly describe how different they are (the book and movie i mean). It frustrates me so deeply just thinking about it. Anyways, you’ll see what I mean (if you read it).

  4. Sarah says:

    Janie, I want to read the book. I hate when movies hack a book. It seemed like such a complex plot, maybe thats why they left so much out. ? Who knows, sometimes they hit and sometimes they miss. I probably over spiritualize everything (if thats even a word.) I have gotten spiritual thoughts while watching, ‘Finding Nemo’ and think I have even testified about it, Im sure someone makes fun of me out there and its annoying to others but why not find something to be encouraged about? I liked one thought I heard that everything tangible, here that we could touch, has a spiritual application. We just have to be looking for it, its great, almost like a game you would play in the car. ‘Slug bug’ or ‘I spy’ I guess it shows if you look for something you may just find it.

  5. Janelle says:

    One of my turning points as a teenager came when watching “The Lion King”. It came when the father’s “spirit” appears to Simba and tells him something to the effect that he has so much more potential than what he has become. I felt the Lord telling me to snap out of it, and realize who I was as a child of God. And believe me, “just keep swimming, just keep swimming, … swimming, swimming, swimming” has been a God-send to me!

  6. Stacie says:

    Brandon and I read The Count of Monte Cristo together a couple years ago, and it really is an awesome book. Janie, you are so right about the movie being totally different from the book. Shortly after we read it, we watched the movie and couldn’t believe how altered it was! They not only left stuff out, they added things that weren’t even close to being in the book!! To say the least, we were very disappointed in it. It shouldn’t even be called The Count of Monte Cristo. Sorry to be so negative on the movie, Sarah, but if you read the book, you’d feel the same way LOL! Stacie

  7. Janie says:

    Its funny that you mention Finding Nemo, the last time I watched it I got so many Spiritual things out of it. There’s a lot of hidden Spiritual things in those Disney Classics, like Lion King. One of the biggest things I got out of Lion King was when the Simba looks at his reflection and sees his father and the monkey says “He lives in you”.

Leave a Reply

