Abased and Abound

This is going to be one of the nicest Saturdays left of the year. Google says 61 degrees but Im betting it gets even warmer than that. So I dont want to be on here all day, I think we will take the kids to the zoo!

Something clicked with me in church I wanted to see if I could connect these thoughts and then have them down forever. I was fed manna from heaven last night. Bro Rob opened with an encouraging talk about faith, the keys of David and the Red Sea. We had sung some songs on victory and there is nothing like victory songs after a long, hard week! Bro Todd talking about David’s psalms, the new song that we are singing HERE and victory. Moses and his people and the victory song they sang when the crossed over the Red Sea. How no one could have sang the victory song unless they were there. They couldnt understand the depth of what the Lord did for them there. I thought you cant sing about things unless you go through them. You cant sing the victory song, unless you have walked through the trial with the Lord. What a concept! We’re singing that new song in Revelation NOW, partly! How encouraging is that?

Then Bro Steve broke down Psalm 73 incredibly. This great king David, this amazing man after God’s heart, he says he was envious of the foolish. The prosperity of the wicked. Thank God our thoughts dont condemn us forever. He recognizes he had some real stupid thoughts as he says, I was like a beast before thee. vs 17. God has to help us understand that our perception of God’s fairness and love cannot be based on immediate gain or loss. Read that sentance again. Its a revelation. Read is again s-l-o-w-l-y. If you do base it on immediate gain or loss, you are going to be outraged every single day. If something happens to you it doesnt mean you are under judgement. The Lord wants us to enter into His rest. THINGS are to have no effect on us. We ought not be disturbed no matter what happens to us. Immiediate gains or losses.

Now that spoke to me in about 3 million kinds of ways on 3 million different levels. It made my walk seem a little brighter and my path a little wider. The Lord has totally been dealing with Ernie and I on this very thing these past few months and how Bro Steve said it just made perfect sense. Also, a few weeks ago he introduced a thought how envy could be as idolatry. This was the culmination of that thought, in my opinion.

Paul says in Philippians 4:12, “I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need.” <–my goal!

But I am so thankful for the psalmist David. His real-ness with me. If it werent for the Psalms, I would feel like this was almost impossible. Good in theory but how to deal with being so human? My exact feelings are in there and like Bro Todd said, David gets it all out, in his soul, bares his soul out and then deep within there is that knowing that God is and will do what He says He will. I have that knowing too. We all do. That is what we have to stand on today. That knowing. Is there anything else?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

