Powerless

I woke up this morning remembering a dream I had last night.

I was in an airport bathroom, going somewhere but I was hiding pills or something in this little Sucrets throat lozenge box. I was boarding the plane and sat in my seat. I put the pills in my mouth. We were flying just for a bit and the plane started going down. I spit the pills out of my mouth violently and started praising the Lord.

Seems like a quick little weird dream. But the more I meditated on it this morning, the more sense it made to me. When I boarded the plane, my heart wasnt right. It was the old me. That just represented flesh, addictions, bondage, rebellion, felt just like our Adam nature. Once I realized the plane was going down, I got my heart instantly right. In a violent way, I spit out the pills in my mouth and got right with God. This is the best part.

Bro Steve has been saying for a few weeks now, “if your heart isnt right, you can make it right and be right with God before you even leave this building.” You Repent, get your heart right, change your heart and turn towards Him. It doesnt have to take a long time. It can happen in a split second.

Anyone who thinks this world isnt going down is holding hands with it.

Bro Denny’s song came to mind that he sang this weekend.

“The chains that used to bind you, Serve only to remind you, That they drop powerless behind you, When you praise Him.”

There is the last key. The bondage, the oppression, the fleshly desires, the Rebellion, the wrong thinking all can drop powerless behind you when you praise Him. When you turn towards Him. Sometimes it seems like this awful, long road back to Him. And sometimes it is, but sometimes it isnt. Sometimes its just a word, a changing of your spirit, a Praise.

There is this story, I testified about it once because it forever made an impression on my mind. About slaves and the Emancipation Proclamation. Some slave owners kept their slaves after the Proclamation because after all, how would the slaves know unless the owners told them they were free? There were these slaves working on the fields 5 years after the Proclamation was in place. These free prior slaves saw them as they were walking by and told them about the it. That they were free and they didnt have to be there anymore!

We are free! We dont have to be in bondage to this world and it’s ways anymore, eating its slop, conforming to its ways. Someone came by and told us we were free. Do you believe it? Or are you choosing today to stay in the bondage from which we were set free?

John 8:34-36 ESV

34 Jesus answered them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, everyone who commits sin is a slave to sin.

35 The slave does not remain in the house forever; the son remains forever.

36 So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.

Again…

“The chains that used to bind you, Serve only to remind you, That they drop powerless behind you, When you praise Him.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Powerless

  1. Janelle says:

    Total Grandpa Cooper, but the line is “the chains that SEEM to bind you.” The only reason I wanted to note that is because it is so present, so today. The chains not only “used to” bind us, but they still try to mock us and “seem to” bind us today. And the answer is still the same – Praise Him! It made me think of your testimony a year or so ago about Psalms 23 where it says “the valley of the shadow of death.” You were so impressed about it just being a shadow, not real. It’s just a shadow of death, bondage, etc. But if we let our minds dwell on it and fill with fear, we are just as bound as if it were real. We DO need to live within our freedom that the Lord has purchased for us. Free from the sin that so easily entangles us! Isn’t the whole plan awesome? This Way, this plan of salvation and redemption. How good is God to deliver us from ourselves. Thanks for these thoughts.

  2. Tina says:

    Valley of the SHADOW of death. Wow. I had never looked at it like that before…. a shadow isn’t real…etc. That is really something to think about. I am going to go get my Bible and look at that one closer. Great thoughts you guys! -T

  3. Sarah says:

    Janelle, You are right. I probably said ‘used to’ because I was applying it to what I once was I think. But things seem to bind me every day. It is only a shadow- I remember that. Its not real. Thanks for commenting! Tina too!

Leave a Reply

