Thoughts

Sometimes inside my head sounds like the Spocks Beard song, ‘Thoughts.’ I am consumed with busi-ness, thoughts coming and going all day. If Im not careful, if I dont correct my thinking, my thoughts can lead me down a rocky path. If I find myself being short with my kids, at the end of my rope, usually its what I been thinking about. Have I been thinking about all the things I dont have? Have I been thinking about old hurts? Re-living the pain inside my mind? Sometimes my thoughts can change my mood. Its such a bummer. Sometimes I think too much on life too, why? Why does this have to happen? Why did we have to lose Ernie’s dad? Why do babies get sick? Why do children get cancer? These are the kinds of thoughts that can change my day. In frustration with questions with no answers, I become consumed with confusion.

We have to rely on the Holy Spirit to help us. It is the ‘comforter. It comes and comforts our aching minds, it helps with everyday living. I will never ever forget a lot of things Bro Harrison has shared with us. But one thing specifically on this point- He said, “on the way from here to Rivergate while I am driving my car makes a few hundred corrections. If My hands didnt correct the wheel of my car, it would crash. Same thing with our thinking, we have to constantly be correcting our thought process.” This has stayed with me because, for me, it is true.

I want to correct my thinking, let the Holy Spirit take over my mind and feel the peace come in waves. Like waves rolling on a gentle beach, this is how I describe the peace that passes through me when I allow this to happen. It takes effort though, I have to stop mid thought and breathe. Asking the Lord to help me. Every day, every minute. I do not have this whole process conquered, I do not do this every time. When I dont, I suffer. When I do, I have victory. I want to have Victory more often.

Then I am reminded of these scriptures..

Isa 55:8 For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD.

Isa 55:9 For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thoughts

  1. Gina says:

    Totally right on the mark for this! This weekend we talked about the perfect peace of God. And you know what the stand out Scripture for me was? “Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on Thee; because he trusts in Thee.” (Isaiah 26:3)

    I needed to hear this! Thanks:) And I think I am going to order the Experiencing the Depths of Jesus…

  2. bellissimanh says:

    Much easier said than done… “….bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ” (2 Cor. 10:5b). Thanks for the soul food today, Sarah… oh how I needed it!

  3. Jan says:

    life can throw so much at you. sometimes all one can do is just ask the Lord to stay by their side, not even having a mind to pray. I’d of never thought it, myself, that one couldn’t have the mind to pray. We do have to hang on and depend on Him with all our might, especially with things we go through with no control over. There are no answers…. to much of life’s happenings.. I think so many times, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are lovely… think! Janice! on these things! Some days easier to do than others… pray for me and I continue to pray for you. all. But.. I do know..and see the GOOD in every new day. There is always a praise to the Lord and heart of graditude… no matter, God is good. Period. That’s all we have to remember thru the lower and lowest times… God is good. Period. love you S.. so glad our Bradley caught his first fish.. imagine??? how thrilled???? Ampie would of been to have been with him, and had it all happening!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

