Joy is on the inside

I sometimes miss my morning drive to work. Its been a while since I had one but that was such a good worship time with the Lord. Some of the sweetest prayers have been in the car alone. I have heard some complain about the morning drive into work and inside I was jealous of their alone time. With no messes, with no kids, with no “to do” list. Just driving. This morning was like that for me, having an errand to run I snuck in some time with Him.

I felt so strongly as I sang to Keith Green’s “Make my life a prayer” that Joy is on the inside. It kept going through my mind that Joy is on the inside. The Bible says the Joy of the Lord is our strength. Joy and Strength are like peanut butter and jelly. They always seem to be near each other. I know in the definition of Joy it states it is an emotion. But is it?

Now I have a Joy this world knows nothing about… It’s something we posess, becomes who we are. Filled with Joy. In His presence there is fullness of Joy. We understand it as an emotion but there is a fullness to it that can only be found in His presence. I want to always have Joy in me. And Rejoice that Joy is on the inside. It can be brought up and out at any time no matter where I am. No matter what my circumstance.

If I choose to let it.

Make my life a prayer to you
I want to do what you want me to
No empty words and no white lies
No token prayers no compromise

I want to shine the light you gave
Through your son you sent to save us
From ourselves and our despair
It comforts me to know youre really there

Chorus
Well I want to thank you know
For being patient with me
Oh its so hard to see
When my eyes are on me
I guess Ill have to trust
And just believe what you say
Oh youre coming again
Coming to take me away

I want to die and let you give
Your life to me so I might live
And share the hope you gave me
The love that set me free

I want to tell the world out there
Youre not some fable or fairy tale
That I’ve made up inside my head
Youre God the son and youve risen from the dead

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Joy is on the inside

  1. Ernie says:

    That alone time no matter where it is at is so important. I remember a time when I couldnt wait to get up to be with the Lord. Now I am so tired all i can do is hit the snooze button. But still if I can get in that time it makes such a difference(reading, prayer, worship in the early morning). Joy comes form knowing him and if you dont spend time with him how can you know him? The lines in this song that stick out to me are:

    No empty words and no white lies
    No token prayers no compromise

    Well I want to thank you now
    For being patient with me
    Oh its so hard to see
    When my eyes are on me

    Oh youre coming again
    Coming to take me away

    Hes coming back and I want to be a friend he comes back for!

  2. Gina says:

    Amen! Funny, Bro Glenn has been preaching about joy lately… about how the joy of the Lord truly is our strength… Good post:)

  3. Janie says:

    In your third paragraph, when you talked about having joy in his presence, it reminded me of the song that Joey, Amy, and Stacie sing. “In His presence there is fullness of joy. At His right hand there are pleasures for evermore…” I love that song!
    Great thoughts Sarah. I hope to see you at the Camp Meeting!

  4. Sarah says:

    Janie- hi! We are going to campmeeting leaving here Thursday afternoon and will be there the rest of the time. Looking so forward to it! I had that song in mind Amy, Joey and Stacie sing when I typed that. But check out this scripture..

    Psa 16:11 Thou wilt show me the path of life: in thy presence is fullness of joy; at thy right hand there are pleasures forevermore.

    Awesome!!!!!

Leave a Reply

