Gardener of my life..

This weeks VBS is over after tonights service. I am really looking forward to it, hoping the Lord does something special for the children.. And the adults. It such an important visual. A lifeize Tabernacle, with all the fixin’s. But until last night I didnt really feel the spirit moving at all. There has been so much going on, but in the Body of Christ there will always be something going on. Everyone will always be busy.

Sis Alzedah’s funeral really convicted me. I almost couldnt go, just the week we had. Ernie was going to go, and me stay with the kids but at the last moment I said, wait. I need to go. She had an ingredient that I am missing and if I get the recipe tonight it will have been worth my effort. Even with cranky kids.

Well.. Seems like the ingredient we are all missing is her prayer life. Something so simple, but the fruits of a connection with God are abundant. It’s just like the Lord, something so simple, something so easily overlooked is the most important thing we could possibly do on this earth. When we cant press into the spirit, its because we have too much clutter in the way. No matter what is going on, we have to be able to contact God. We have to. This would be another thing that is all or nothing with God. Either you are there or you arent. And unfortunately I can be counted lately with the latter.

I did a class this week on the Holy Place for the 6-8 year olds. As usual I feel like my research was more for me than for the kids. The thing that really, really stood out to me was the wood for all the altars. It was made out of shittim (acacia) wood. I read a little further about it and the instructions GOD gave Moses was very detailed about this wood, like everything else in the Tabernacle. Shittim wood is the thorniest in all of the Holy Land. God had Moses cover this wood with Gold. But I thought further, Moses couldnt cover thorny bark with Gold. There wouldnt have been a smooth surface. Those thorns had to be removed.

In Matthew 13 the parable of the sower is found. In verse 7 it talks about the seed falling among the thorns. The seed wanted to thrive, but the thorns choked the life of the new growth. I was thinking how the thorns in my life that need to be removed are all inside of me. The things He wants to take out. The things that cause my new spiritual growth to be choked out. Mostly my adverse-to-the-gospel attitude. He wants to help us do some weeding, get those thorny things off of our skin so he can layer us with pure gold!

In Ezekiel 47, Ezekiel sees a river, the whole story is beautiful. But specifically what caught my eye were the trees on the banks. I want to be one of those trees-if only I could be a tree there. Being fed by the river. I felt like the Lord told me this morning, “if you want to be a strong oak on the banks of the river of life, you  need to remove the thorns. I have been trying to plant you. The seed grows and it gets choked and cannot grow further. If you want to be there, being fed by the river, you need to let me be the gardener in your life.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gardener of my life..

  1. Ernie says:

    great thoughts !!

    I have been listening to ravenhill all week and he has been pounding Prayer! Here are some quotes form one of the messages I have been playing over and over.

    If weak in prayer we are weak everywhere -Ravenhill

    No man is greater than his prayer life. The pastor who is not praying is playing; the people who are not praying are straying. The pulpit can be a shop window to display one’s talents; the prayer closet allows no showing off – Ravenhill

    To be much for God, we must be much with God. Jesus, that lone figure in the wilderness, knew strong crying, along with tears. Can one be moved with compassion and not know tears? Jeremiah was a sobbing saint. Jesus wept! So did Paul. So did John…Though there are some tearful intercessors behind the scenes, I grant you that to our modern Christianity, praying is foreign – Ravenhill

    The world has lost the power to blush over its vice; the Church has lost her power to weep over it – Ravenhill

    Notice, we never pray for folks we gossip about, and we never gossip about the folk for whom we pray! For prayer is a great deterrent – Ravenhill

Leave a Reply

