Pearl of great price

I havent blogged for a while, its been a strange few weeks for me. Bro Kurt talked yesterday about seasons in life. It was so right on for how I have been feeling. Just a season.. Last nights service was so good, I wanted to rise to my feet and add my voice to it. It was so special to me. When Bro Jim gets that ‘fire’ I just want to be near it working. The Heritage Choir singing is just what I needed also, sometimes its good to hear people who have been through trials sing about being victorious. It would have been different for me hearing the youth sing the same songs. Kind of like getting parenting advice from someone with no kids. lol So, that was beautiful to me.

I had already been thinking all day long since I woke about when I got the Holy Ghost. It was 10 years ago this summer. Knowing what had happened with Lance probably has brought it back to my mind, making it once again, such a real thing that happens in your life when new life is breathed into you.But when they sang the song, Calvary… The line, Now, I have given to Jesus everything, Now I gladly own Him as my King. Now my burdened soul can only sing, of calvary.. Its like, NOW. Finally.. That peaceful time when the crowd drowns out and its only you and the Lord. Its like, now, Lord, I can tell you everything, now, I can be free from this burden I have been carrying around.. Now, you can heal me of this…

Bro Beltran spoke life to my soul when he spoke. He mentioned Exodus 19:5 19:5 Now therefore, if ye will obey my voice indeed, and keep my covenant, then ye shall be a peculiar treasure unto me above all people: for all the earth is mine:

That line special treasure stood out to me. I had been thinking about Matthew 13 all service since the Heritage Choir sang..

Mat 13:44 Again, the kingdom of heaven is like unto treasure hid in a field; the which when a man hath found, he hideth, and for joy thereof goeth and selleth all that he hath, and buyeth that field.

13:45 Again, the kingdom of heaven is like unto a merchant man, seeking goodly pearls:

13:46 Who, when he had found one pearl of great price, went and sold all that he had, and bought it.

For a second my mind went to a conversation I had with Ernie last week. Someone he was talking to put a twist on this scripture. I always thought of it as US as the one who sells everything and gives our all to the Lord. But think of it too, as us who are the pearl of great price and Jesus gave all He had for it. Putting our name in there. Sarah is the pearl of great price that Jesus gave all He had for. Then I thought of Mary Virginia, (Allen Lankfords widow) she is the pearl of great price! Then Lance, he is the pearl of great price! And the couple that James was sitting by, they are the pearl of great price! And James Lewis, he was a pearl of great price to the Lord! We all are! It was such a beautiful picture in my mind and I am so thankful for the Lord letting me see that. That I have worth to Him, especially in a week that I have felt particularly awful. Im thankful.

We will be going to James Lewis’ funeral tonight. I just got home from Laurie’s and got to see the video that Joey helped Sean put together. Its just beautiful. You never know why people are brought into your lives for such a short time. Weird that James was only here for about 6 months and Allen Lankford was too. They both have had impacts on us this week. I want to get what I can while I can. Be changed when He wants to change me. There are situations all around us just waiting for us to get a different perspective about. Once we do, we could never be the same.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pearl of great price

  1. Gina says:

    I also had just recently heard Bro Goodwin speak of how we are that pearl… it puts a whole new meaning to how Jesus endured that cross.

    So what season are you in? Mine seems to be hot hot summer… where there’s not much rain, but plenty of trials and tests… but then when the rain does come; it’s a storm and it pours… it cools down for a short while and up goes the heat again:) Anyways, hope all is well, ttyl

  2. Sarah says:

    Gina, yes, pretty much the same for me. But tonight I am overwhelmed. The funeral service for Bro James Lewis was beyond anything I could have imagined. Right now, I feel as light and breezy as a spring morning. Tomorrow may get hot, but thank God for tonight! Thank God for His great love!!

Leave a Reply

