Desiderata

I remember Bro Gordon gave this to Ernie a long time ago on a nice framed piece. I was thinking of it today and found it online. Wanted to share it, its so good. I have been thinking of the older saints we have lost to death or sickness, etc.  for some reason a lot this week. With the prayer request of Camille and Sis Corrine testifying, they have just been on my mind.. I was thinking of Bro Miller’s last testimony and how it changed my life.. “Awake you sleeping lions..” Remember that?

Upton sings a song on his newest album Beautiful People and its called mom and dad. He talks about the kids, hopes he isnt messing them up and finds himself digging up treasures from his past just to get through raising them. You dont realize how special some things, how treasured some things are, until time starts taking its toll on your life. Then you realize.

Bro Harrison’s life, I wish I could download his brain into mine, he is simply beautiful. Sis Alzedah in that nursing home, Bro Bonds, etc. I was talking to Heather not too long ago about Bro Bonds, Chris had been helping him. She told me he went into the hospital on a church day and had his tithe envelope with him. He made sure Chris gave it that night in church. There is something about that generation that I want. Steadfastness, faithful prayer warriors.

We were giving someone a ride up to the campground after a convention service was over, he was a young boy that knew a lot about Clara Sowders. He even had a tape of her with him. We listened to her testimony, it was beautiful. Unshakeable, confident, upbeat, encouraging. He told us people around her knew she was a prayer warrior, that before you asked her to pray, be sure you wanted it to happen, because if she prayed, she would touch God on your behalf. I so desire that in my life, that above all, people know that I am striving, my greatest desire is to be close to the Lord. To intercede, to encourage. I am so far away from my goal..  Anyways, this is that poem from Bro Gordon..

Desiderata


Go placidly amid the noise and haste,
and remember what peace there may be in silence.
As far as possible without surrender
be on good terms with all persons.
Speak your truth quietly and clearly;
and listen to others,
even the dull and the ignorant;
they too have their story.

Avoid loud and aggressive persons,
they are vexations to the spirit.
If you compare yourself with others,
you may become vain and bitter;
for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself.
Enjoy your achievements as well as your plans.

Keep interested in your own career, however humble;
it is a real possession in the changing fortunes of time.
Exercise caution in your business affairs;
for the world is full of trickery.
But let this not blind you to what virtue there is;
many persons strive for high ideals;
and everywhere life is full of heroism.

Be yourself.
Especially, do not feign affection.
Neither be cynical about love;
for in the face of all aridity and disenchantment
it is as perennial as the grass.

Take kindly the counsel of the years,
gracefully surrendering the things of youth.
Nurture strength of spirit to shield you in sudden misfortune.
But do not distress yourself with dark imaginings.
Many fears are born of fatigue and loneliness.
Beyond a wholesome discipline,
be gentle with yourself.

You are a child of the universe,
no less than the trees and the stars;
you have a right to be here.
And whether or not it is clear to you,
no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should.

Therefore be at peace with God,
whatever you conceive Him to be,
and whatever your labors and aspirations,
in the noisy confusion of life keep peace with your soul.

With all its sham, drudgery, and broken dreams,
it is still a beautiful world.
Be cheerful.
Strive to be happy.

Max Ehrmann, Desiderata, Copyright 1927.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Desiderata

  1. Janelle says:

    When we were teenagers, my best friend Ann-Rene and I would say something and the other would almost yell, “I was just about to say that!” That’s how I felt when I read this post! In Sunday night’s worship service I was imagining all the older saints that aren’t here anymore down front with everyone else. It seems like a lot of them had trademark demonstrations of the spirit, and I could see them in my mind worshipping down front kind of on the fringe of the crowd. And I felt the loss and the void. I was thinking what must my parents’ generation feel? Then I was thinking that it is our responsibility to carry on a deep walk with the Lord – in prayer, the Word of God and faithfulness. I read today that God is faithful, you never have to wonder if He is going to keep His promises. Sorry for turning this into my own rambling blog! Thank you for that poem too. Love you, Janelle

  2. aaron c says:

    I really share your sentiments regarding the ones that have passed on. I am so grateful that I was able to know so many of these precious saints. “Of whom the world was not worthy…” I also really enjoyed the poem you posted. Thank you for consistently sharing good things. I don’t comment on every blog, but I do enjoy reading them.

Leave a Reply

